Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

Developer
supraking
My Device: Not Specified

No Rotation in Webworks app -- BB10 Dev Alpha

Hey all,

I'm new to Webworks development, so please bare with me here... I've got a simple photo gallery application up and running, basically just two panes, one that displays thumbnails across the top (side scrollable) and one that displays the image in the center. On click, the image enlarges and can be pinch-zoomed and manipulated.

The problem occurs when trying to change the orientation within the app. It simply doesn't rotate. The config file is set to orientation:auto and if I LAUNCH the app in one orientation or the other, the app remains in that orientation regardless of device orientation.

Any ideas on whether I need to enable some kind of specific functionality in my app? Detect the orientation change and rotate my content? I imagine this should be handled automatically (like on a webpage in the browser) and I shouldn't have to manipulate the code (unless I want the layout to change).

Or, is this a device-specific (i.e. bb10 dev alpha) issue? Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!!

Please use plain text.
Developer
Rcjuk
My Device: N/A

Re: No Rotation in Webworks app -- BB10 Dev Alpha

Think this may be a dev alpha issue unless I've missed something. Ported a normal webworks app over (which works fine when you switch orientation) and it no longer rotates on the alpha.

Please use plain text.
Administrator
astanley
My Device: BlackBerry Bold 9900
My Carrier: Bell

Hi supraking. this behavior is a current limitation of the Dev Alpha (keyword - Alpha :smileywink: ) product.  It will be fixed and you will be able to rotate your WebWorks applications to both portrait and landscape orientation.