Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

Reply
Developer
ingvar_e
Posts: 551
Registered: ‎10-31-2009
My Device: Torch 9800, Bold 9700

Place a call and send DTMF

This is about OS10

 

Place call and send dtmf with VMWare simulator

 

I have asked this question earlier and got some contradictory answers.

 

1. No support for that. You have to write your own extension

2. You can use "invoke" and "phone"

 

The question is related to making a call in general. Is there support for a "simulated answer" like in OS5

 

 

If everything seems to be under control, you're just not driving fast enough
-Mario Andretti-
Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor
bryanhiggins
Posts: 202
Registered: ‎12-18-2012
My Device: Z10, Q10, Q5, Z30, Z3

Re: Place a call and send DTMF

I haven't tested this, but you should be able to use a tel URI.

 

Something like this should dial the number wait 5 seconds then send additional tones.

 

window.location = "tel:5555555ppppp1234";

Bryan Higgins
BlackBerry WebWorks
@bryanhiggins
Please use plain text.
Developer
ingvar_e
Posts: 551
Registered: ‎10-31-2009
My Device: Torch 9800, Bold 9700

Re: Place a call and send DTMF

Did that in VM simulator.  How do I answer the call? Like in OS5.

If everything seems to be under control, you're just not driving fast enough
-Mario Andretti-
Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor
oros
Posts: 1,557
Registered: ‎04-12-2010
My Device: BlackBerry Z10

Re: Place a call and send DTMF

Perhaps someone can say otherwise, but I do not believe there is a way to answer calls. Checking the controller.exe funcionality:

C:\Users\[USER]\Documents\Virtual Machines\BlackBerry10Simulator-BB10_0_10-261\controllers\controller.exe

 

I do not see any sort of phone integration in that tool to manage such a thing.


Erik Oros | @WaterlooErik | eoros@blackberry.com | Developer Issue Tracker

If a reply has answered your question, please click Accept as Solution to help other visitors in the future.
Please use plain text.
Developer
ingvar_e
Posts: 551
Registered: ‎10-31-2009
My Device: Torch 9800, Bold 9700

Re: Place a call and send DTMF

The functionality of the OS10 VM Simulator has a long way to go to come up to the standards of the OS5 simulator.

To bad. I am disappointed

If everything seems to be under control, you're just not driving fast enough
-Mario Andretti-
Please use plain text.
Developer
peardox
Posts: 1,229
Registered: ‎03-20-2011
My Device: Playbook, Z10 LE, Dev Alpha B, 2x Dev Alpha C

Re: Place a call and send DTMF

Hi Ingvar

 

See this - devblog.blackberry.com/2013/04/blackberry-10-device-simulator/

 

A new OS release and simulator came out last week and this does part of what you want

 

Download the latest simulator (10.1.X.1483), install it and start it up - note that you can select Z10 / Q10 emulation at boot time

 

When its running go to <install folder>\controllers and run controller.exe

 

This should be somewhere like C:\Users\invgar\Documents\Virtual Machines\BlackBerry10Simulator-BB10_1_X-1483\controllers on Win7

 

Select Connection -> Connect from the menu, give it a sec to do auto-discovery, then select the IP from the drop-down and Connect to the Simulator

 

Lots of nice new toys to play with including Phone!

 

It's pretty rudimentary from the sound of what you wanna do - basically you can 'Place a call' and simulate various answering scenarios. You don't appear to be able to simulate incoming calls.

 




Click the like button if you find my posts useful!
Please use plain text.
Developer
ingvar_e
Posts: 551
Registered: ‎10-31-2009
My Device: Torch 9800, Bold 9700

Re: Place a call and send DTMF

Thanks Peardox.

will check it out

If everything seems to be under control, you're just not driving fast enough
-Mario Andretti-
Please use plain text.
Developer
ingvar_e
Posts: 551
Registered: ‎10-31-2009
My Device: Torch 9800, Bold 9700

Re: Place a call and send DTMF

I am not on terms with the simulator. Doing "sweeping" to get out of  "settings" does not work for me.

I get two interesting messages during start up.  "Refer to Blackberry 10 Simulator Documentation". Would love to. Where is it??

 

Another message tells me to check virtualization in the "controller". Find nothing about virtualization in the controller.

 

And I still cannot get "add a contact" to work.  Have 2 versions of code. None works. Nothing happens. Maybe not supported in the simulator? I know it is not supported in ripple.

 

 

If everything seems to be under control, you're just not driving fast enough
-Mario Andretti-
Please use plain text.
Developer
peardox
Posts: 1,229
Registered: ‎03-20-2011
My Device: Playbook, Z10 LE, Dev Alpha B, 2x Dev Alpha C

Re: Place a call and send DTMF

Click the blog post I link above

 

The virtualization is in VMWare *NOT* the controller

 

You need a newer CPU for virtualization to happen

 

My main PC (laptop) is an AMD quad core with VT enabled in BIOS but it seems to do nothing - I could try it on the slow Linux box to compare when I'm bored I guess

 

My Early 08 MacBook Pro - huka junk for iOS builds has a dual core Intel and the iOS + Droid sims fly on that (not tried BB on it cos I only looked all this up this AM on reading your message)

 

I'm playing with extensions ATM - written a Virtual Keyboard one that's almost ready for release (I'm having issues with the event loop but am close now)

 

Phone is on my todo list of extension projects but, fairly obviously, things I want in the API are more important to me on a personal level

 

There was another - sorta similar - Q a few days ago regarding phone so its obviously desired by the ppl who use the forums (many more will give up rather than ask)

 

If you can plod thru the API and email me (what's an MVS call?) with what sounds usefull for the community at large I'll see what I can do

 

The obvious requirements are - for most....

 

Dial a number

Trap incoming call along with the number its coming from

Monitor call state (call failed, call ended, answered yada, yada, yada - there are 9 states if memory serves)

 

I seems to remember seeing some DTMF in there as well - don't hold me to it

 




Click the like button if you find my posts useful!
Please use plain text.
Developer
ingvar_e
Posts: 551
Registered: ‎10-31-2009
My Device: Torch 9800, Bold 9700

Re: Place a call and send DTMF

A step forward. Or 2

 

 - Understand how to back out of  an app.

 - Controller working and answering calls

 - Virtualization assist works

 

As for phone functionality  it might be sufficient with an outgoing call and send DTMF. If it works as mentioned with tel: on a real device I will test later on a real device.

 

Currently 2 unresolved issues.  Unzip problem that should be on its way to be fixed. I hope. And adding a contact

If everything seems to be under control, you're just not driving fast enough
-Mario Andretti-
Please use plain text.