If you are using Internet Explorer, please remove blackberry.com from your compatibility view settings.

Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

orz
Contributor
orz
My Device: Playbook

Porting from BB10 to BB 7.0

[ Edited ]

Hi all,

I was wondering if anyone here has had experience porting a BB10 app written in cascades to webworks (for BB10) and then back-porting even further to BB 7.0 devices?  If so, do you have any tips?

Also, would I have to use a different signing key/debug token combination?  I'm still fairly new at publishing apps to BlackBerry World, so I'm not sure what route people usually take when creating apps for multiple versions of BlackBerry.  I'm assuming it's usually the other way around (going from BB7 to BB10), and not what I'm trying to do right now.  Haha!

FYI, language isn't an issue for me.  I find both webworks and cascades fairly easy to understand and use.  Reason I chose cascades was because I found the momentics ide really easy to work with compared to running scripts to build/deploy an app to a device if I'd gone with webworks initially.

Thanks!

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor
twindsor
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Porting from BB10 to BB 7.0

It's fairly rare to go the approach that you are doing, but not unheard of.

There's not a lot to say about porting from Cascades to WebWorks - unless you used WebViews in Cascades, you're pretty much going to be rewriting everything in HTML5, CSS and JavaScript. I'd suggest going with a UI framework that will allow you to map closely to the Cascades UI - so you don't have to redesign screens or interaction. bbUI.js is your best bet since you're going back to BB7 as well.