Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

Reply
Contributor
Marc_Holt
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎06-06-2013
My Device: BlackBerry Curve 9320
Accepted Solution

Re: Ripple is not creating a .cod file

Hi 

Please I need your help with HelloWorld - need to know how you packaged. I keep getting the error 
Oh Snap! Build request failed with message: C:\Program Files(x86)\Research In Motion\BlackBerry WebWorks SDK 2.3.1.5 is not a valid path

 

I am using BlackBerry WebWorks SDK 2.3.1.5, and the jdk1.7.0_21 toolkit.  The device is the Blackberry  Curve 9350 and the Blackberry OS is v 7. I will be running a simulator first Blackberry Curve 9350

 

Thanks upfront

Marc

 

BlackBerry Development Advisor
oros
Posts: 1,557
Registered: ‎04-12-2010
My Device: BlackBerry Z10

Re: Ripple is not creating a .cod file


Hi Marc,

 

Please note that ours tools require JDK6 (latest version is fine) and it must be 32-bit.

 

Similar to the previous post, let's eliminate Ripple from the equation for a moment. Ripple just invokes the command-line so if we can make it work in the command-line, Ripple shoulud follow. Can you please:
- ZIP your project folder (so your config.xml is at the root of the ZIP.)
- Copy your ZIP file to your WebWorks SDK folder (i.e. same folder as bbwp.)
- Open a command-prompt and navigate to the WebWorks SDK folder.
- From the command-prompt, run the script: bbwp MyApp.zip


Erik Oros | @WaterlooErik | eoros@blackberry.com | Developer Issue Tracker

If a reply has answered your question, please click Accept as Solution to help other visitors in the future.
Contributor
Marc_Holt
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎06-06-2013
My Device: BlackBerry Curve 9320

Re: Ripple is not creating a .cod file

Hi

 

Thanks and profoundly appreciate the help! My HelloWorld.zip file has only config.xml at the root. There are two other folders <Images> with icon.png and the other one being <index> . I created <index> as the system would not allow me to put the folder <packaged> into HelloWorld.zip. So the folder <index> contains <index.html> and the subfolder <packaged>. When I run the command - bbwp "MyApp.zip" the log reads [error] Failed to find application archive .

 

When I run the command - bbwp "C:\Users\Username\RippleSites\HelloWorld\HelloWorld.zip" the log reads            [warning] Failed to find a <feature> element, plus [fatal] Executable name has embedded quote, split the arguments.

 

Thanks upfront 

Marc

 

 

Contributor
Marc_Holt
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎06-06-2013
My Device: BlackBerry Curve 9320

Re: Ripple is not creating a .cod file

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Windows\system32>cd "C:\Program Files)\Research In Motion\BlackBerry WebWorks
SDK 2.3.1.5"
The system cannot find the path specified.

C:\Windows\system32>cd "C:\Program Files\Research In Motion\BlackBerry WebWorks
SDK 2.3.1.5"

C:\Program Files\Research In Motion\BlackBerry WebWorks SDK 2.3.1.5>bbwp "HelloW
orld.zip"
[INFO] Parsing command line options
[INFO] Parsing bbwp.properties
[INFO] Validating application archive
[INFO] Parsing config.xml
[WARNING] Failed to find a <feature> element
[INFO] Populating application source
[INFO] Compiling BlackBerry WebWorks application
[FATAL] Executable name has embedded quote, split the arguments

C:\Program Files\Research In Motion\BlackBerry WebWorks SDK 2.3.1.5>

BlackBerry Development Advisor
oros
Posts: 1,557
Registered: ‎04-12-2010
My Device: BlackBerry Z10

Re: Ripple is not creating a .cod file

Hi there, could you please email me HelloWorld.zip? (eoros@blackberry.com)

Also, when using the packager, you must ensure that the output folder is not a subfolder of your project. For example, if your project is here:
C:\MyProjects\ProjectA

Then you can not use the following as an output folder:
C:\MyProjects\ProjectA\package

You must use something completely separate:
C:\MyProjects\output

Erik Oros | @WaterlooErik | eoros@blackberry.com | Developer Issue Tracker

If a reply has answered your question, please click Accept as Solution to help other visitors in the future.
Contributor
Marc_Holt
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎06-06-2013
My Device: BlackBerry Curve 9320

Re: Ripple is not creating a .cod file

Hi Erik

 

Thanks for all the help! What I've however done since is the BB10 WebWorks SDK. And I will get back to SDK 2.3.1.5 once I've completed BB10. I will mail it to you soon.

 

Profoundly appreciate the help!

 

Marc