Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

Reply
New Contributor
jehap
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-27-2009
My Device: Bold 9900, PB
My Carrier: Rogers
Accepted Solution

Scrambled Ripple Emulator Interface

Hi everyone,

 

I have been trying to get into WebWorks, and have downloaded the Ripple Emulator but when I start it, I see the interface scrambled, as per my image attached. Any idea why? I have tried re-installing it to no success. Is there a dependency/setting I need to tweak?

 

http://i39.tinypic.com/fp0yfl.jpg

 

Thanks,

 

James

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
jehap
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-27-2009
My Device: Bold 9900, PB
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Scrambled Ripple Emulator Interface

I should probably add that it's Ripple 0.9.0.11, and I am running XP SP3 32-bit.

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
epearson
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎07-27-2011
My Device: Torch 9860
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Scrambled Ripple Emulator Interface

Hi,

 

Are you using a nVidia video card by any chance? There is an issue with some nVidia drivers and Ripple that causes screen corruption. If so you can use the following workaround from the release notes:

 

If your system has an NVIDIA video card, in the NVIDIA Control Panel, select 3D Settings > Manage 3D settings and click the Program Settings tab. Under Select a program to customize, click Addand choose the location of your Ripple emulator installation. Under Specify the settings for this program, enable the Extension limit.

 

Hope that helps.

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
jehap
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-27-2009
My Device: Bold 9900, PB
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Scrambled Ripple Emulator Interface

Hi,

 

The video card I am using Intel(R) HD Graphics (Core i5) laptop display adapter.

 

I am looking for a similar settings to what you said about the nVidia but no luck yet.

 

James

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
epearson
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎07-27-2011
My Device: Torch 9860
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Scrambled Ripple Emulator Interface

Another thing you can try is disabling hardware acceleration. You can do this by editing the config.ini file. The easiest way to find this file is to open Start -> Run and type %APPDATA%\Research in Motion\Ripple. Open config.ini in a text editor and change enableHardwareAcceleration=0.

 

Make sure the app is closed before you change the value.

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
jehap
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-27-2009
My Device: Bold 9900, PB
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Scrambled Ripple Emulator Interface

Hi Eric,

 

That worked perfectly! Thanks.

 

James

Please use plain text.
Developer
shnuffy
Posts: 268
Registered: ‎08-19-2009
My Device: Bold 9700

Re: Scrambled Ripple Emulator Interface

I had the same problem (same system setup too). Changing the nVidia setting causing Ripple to throw an exception and crash. Changing the config.ini worked for me. Thanks.

Please use plain text.
Contributor
happyman
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-06-2012
My Device: 9860
My Carrier: VN

Re: Scrambled Ripple Emulator Interface

Lucky me, I fixed my problem by this post!

Thanks @epearson!
Please use plain text.