Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

New Contributor
aMobileDeveloper
My Device: BlackBerry 9700
My Carrier: Blackberry

Too many scammers using Blackberry's to hide their true location, considering blocking ALL Blackberry users

Hello, I hope this is in the right section.

I am a mobile developer that runs a large mobile social media site, the largest in its market.

We are having a serious problem with Nigerian Scammers who are continually using BlackBerry browsers to hide the fact that they are connecting from Nigeria since BlackBerry browsers seem to be proxied via BB servers in the UK.

This is becoming so problematic for us that we are now considering blocking all access to BlackBerry devices across-the-board. Although this will eliminate some innocent users, it will also eliminate a significant number of Scammers that join our site, so it is a necessary evil we are prepared to undertake in order to keep our site clean for the greater good.

Before we take that drastic step, however, I wanted to come on here and ask if there is any way to know the real country of a BlackBerry user connecting to a site? For example, although the Opera Mini browser proxies users via servers in Europe and the US, they include a HTTP_X_FORWARDED_FOR variable in the HTTP Header that gives you the Clients original IP address from which you can derive the country they are connecting from.

If there is no way to see the actual country a BB user is connecting from, then I'm afraid we will be left with no choice but to block access to all BlackBerry's and advise our users during registration that they must use a different phone due to the level of Scamming coming from BlackBerry phones.