Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

Developer
hari1
My Device: None right now
Accepted Solution

Using Webworks Context Menus

I am using BB10 Jquery theme. I am a beginner. I am trying to add the context menu feature in my app. But I am not able to understand how to use the code given on this page https://developer.blackberry.com/html5/apis/blackberry.ui.contextmenu.html

I know BBUI is also available but I don't know how to use it and I have made my app's whole code and design using Jquery as it is very easy to use.

Could you please provide me complete working sample files or code to show how to add a context menu in a Jquery Webworks app?

BlackBerry Development Advisor
oros
My Device: BlackBerry Z10

Re: Using Webworks Context Menus

Hi there, this sample doesn't use the jQuery Mobile BB10 theme, but it does have a full implementation of the Context Menu APIs:
https://github.com/blackberry/BB10-WebWorks-Samples/tree/master/CustomContext

Is that along the lines of what you were looking for?

Erik Oros | @WaterlooErik | eoros@blackberry.com | Developer Issue Tracker

If a reply has answered your question, please click Accept as Solution to help other visitors in the future.
Developer
hari1

Thanks for your reply but this sample is still dependent on BBUI.
Won't using that with jQuery cause problems?
oros

[ Edited ]

Correct, you don't want to be mixing bbUI and jQuery since they are both UI frameworks. EDIT: However the context menu implementation in the sample is not dependant on bbUI. bbUI does have its own Context Menu approach, but that is not what is implemented that sample.

While the Github sample uses bbUI for the general layout of the pages, the Context Menu implementation is a direct WebWorks API implementation which can be found here: