Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

Reply
New Developer
anils
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

Using the browser as a front end to an application

I am still relatively new to this so please forgive any faux pas.

 

I am developing an application that essentially needs to use the browser as its UI. I want to capture all the requests from the browser for content and service them myself in the application.

 

Is browser.field the only way to do this? I would prefer using generic API as much as possible.

 

I have built the BrowserFieldSampleApplication from JDE 4.2.1 with Netbeans but I can't get it to work. I copy the cod file to the device but it doesn't appear anywhere. I have the same problem with the simulator.

 

Any help greatly appreciated.

New Developer
anils
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Using the browser as a front end to an application

I got the sample application to compile and run, but it just shows a blank screen. The default page www.google.com does not appear to load and display.

 

What am I supposed to see?

BlackBerry Development Advisor
MSohm
Posts: 14,753
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Passport

Re: Using the browser as a front end to an application

Have you also started the MDS Simulator?  It is required in order to use the BlackBerry Browser or a browserfield within the BlackBerry Simulator.

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
New Developer
anils
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Using the browser as a front end to an application

I am running the application on an actual device. All I see is a white screen. The only menu option I have is close.

 

Anil S.

New Developer
anils
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Using the browser as a front end to an application

The sample application is getting an exception from Connector.open(url).

 

I am on the Rogers network trying this on a 8700 with 4.2.1.107 OS.

BlackBerry Development Advisor
MSohm
Posts: 14,753
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Passport

Re: Using the browser as a front end to an application

What exception are you receiving?  Are you able to use the BlackBerry Browser to access the same page?
Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
New Developer
anils
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Using the browser as a front end to an application

I gave up trying to get this working as I was not actually interested in using an HTTPConnection.

 

Thanks for  your help anyway.

New Developer
jwcas
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-21-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Using the browser as a front end to an application

Hi Mark,

 

If I were to use BrowserField in my application, does it mean that the user of my application MUST be connected to a BES in order to see the content in the browser? 

 

I have embeded a BrowserField in my application, when runs it on the simulator with MDS running, everything is fine. 

When I loade this app onto a device, with network connection but not connected to a BES, it fails to render the webpage.

 

Is it possible to set the embeded BrowserField so that it connects via the InternetBrowser instead of the BlackBerry Browser?

 

Thanks!

BlackBerry Development Advisor
MSohm
Posts: 14,753
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Passport

Re: Using the browser as a front end to an application

It is recommended to use a browser field with a BlackBerry Enterprise Server.  However, if you want to use a specific browser you can invoke it to your URL using the sample below.

 

How to - Invoke the browser
Article Number: DB-00701

http://www.blackberry.com/knowledgecenterpublic/livelink.exe/fetch/2000/348583/800332/800440/How_To_...

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker