Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

New Contributor
My Device: Curve 8530

Web application for BB

I searched the forum to avoid posting this question but I could not find a complete answer. I am new to BB Web development and I want to create a version of my current Web application (developed with ASP.NET, jQuery, etc.) to run on BB. I am not clear about the difference between BB Web application and BB widget. Should I redesign all the pages to fit properly on BB screen or there is an easier way to do it? Do I need anything any *deployment" on the device?

Retired
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Web application for BB

Hi pourreza,

A BlackBerry Widget is an application that is installed on the BlackBerry smartphone, either through BlackBerry App World, through the BlackBerry Enterprise Server, Desktop manager or other means.

A BlackBerry Web application is simply a website that opens up in the BlackBerry Browser.

For both a web application and a widget we recommend that you target your user interface to a smaller screen and use the viewport tags to control user scaling and zooming.  A panning experience isn't the best :smileyhappy:

A BlackBerry Widget runs locally on the device but it can have a combination of local and remote screens coming from your server. This allows you to put the logic of your application wherever it makes sense (server or client).  A widget is entirely written in web technologies using HTML/CSS for your UI layout and JavaScript for your application logic.

In a Widget you can provide a native look and feel without the "pointer" or the Browser UI (menu, requesting bar etc).  You have full control of your application's UI to make it look like a native application.