Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

Reply
Contributor
fxberry
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎12-13-2012
My Device: 10 alpha
Accepted Solution

WebWorks Linux SDK?

Are there any plans to have the WebWorks SDK for Linux?

BlackBerry Development Advisor
Nukul
Posts: 115
Registered: ‎06-06-2011
My Device: 9800

Re: WebWorks Linux SDK?

You can build the open source repo for linux

https://github.com/blackberry/BB10-WebWorks-Packager

:smileyhappy:
@nukulb
Contributor
fxberry
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎12-13-2012
My Device: 10 alpha

Re: WebWorks Linux SDK?

BlackBerry Development Advisor
Nukul
Posts: 115
Registered: ‎06-06-2011
My Device: 9800

Re: WebWorks Linux SDK?

I absolutely did not.

@badtoyz simply took a snapshot (a particular point in time) and built the repo I suggested and put the build output in another repo which means it will at least always be behind until he updates all the time and you get his flavor of linux not the one you are using.

If you build from the repo I suggested you get the latest approved RIM supported version instead of snapshot.

I suggest building it from the repo I suggested so that you don't get other problems when running the app due to the repo you are using being behind.
@nukulb
Contributor
fxberry
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎12-13-2012
My Device: 10 alpha

Re: WebWorks Linux SDK?

Sorry I'm a bit confused. In the link you posted, the prerequisite number 3 is BB WebWorks SDK, which is not available for Linux.

 

I think I'm missing something here, because what I want to install is BB WebWorks SDK on a linux machine..

BlackBerry Development Advisor
Nukul
Posts: 115
Registered: ‎06-06-2011
My Device: 9800

Re: WebWorks Linux SDK?

Ahh I see where the confusion comes from

That should say optional next to it.

Install node[v0.6.10] and npm and add to path.
Install BlackBerry 10 Native SDK.
Install BlackBerry 10 WebWorks SDK [optional]

You don't need it just makes building a little faster. I will fix it.
@nukulb
Contributor
fxberry
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎12-13-2012
My Device: 10 alpha

Re: WebWorks Linux SDK?

I followed the steps all the way to step 8 (skipped step 5 ("Copy dependencies") I guess it's not for linux), when I run "jake" I get "BB10-Webworks BUILD SUCCESS" but when I run "jake test" I get this error message (using --trace):

 

The "sys" module is now called "util". It should have a similar interface.
jake aborted.
Error: ENOENT, no such file or directory '/home/fariazz/BB10-Webworks-Packager/build/../--trace'
    at Object.statSync (fs.js:424:18)
    at Object.executeSpecsInFolder (/home/fariazz/BB10-Webworks-Packager/node_modules/jasmine-node/lib/jasmine-node/index.js:55:10)
    at /home/fariazz/BB10-Webworks-Packager/build/test.js:63:13
    at [object Object].action (/home/fariazz/BB10-Webworks-Packager/Jakefile:25:28)
    at [object Object].run (/usr/lib/nodejs/jake/task/task.js:204:19)
    at [object Object].runPrereqs (/usr/lib/nodejs/jake/task/task.js:115:12)
    at [object Object].invoke (/usr/lib/nodejs/jake/task/task.js:95:10)
    at [object Object].nextPrereq (/usr/lib/nodejs/jake/task/task.js:162:21)
    at [object Object].runPrereqs (/usr/lib/nodejs/jake/task/task.js:112:12)
    at [object Object].invoke (/usr/lib/nodejs/jake/task/task.js:95:10)

Contributor
fxberry
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎12-13-2012
My Device: 10 alpha

Re: WebWorks Linux SDK?

Can this be because I installed node like this: sudo apt-get install node, not by referencing that particular 0.6.10 version :smileyfrustrated:

BlackBerry Development Advisor
Nukul
Posts: 115
Registered: ‎06-06-2011
My Device: 9800

Re: WebWorks Linux SDK?

Yeah you need 0.6.10 or 0.6.20 at the latest if you are going to run tests

Target/zip should have the built version of WebWorks SDK you don't need to run the tests if you don't want to
@nukulb
Contributor
fxberry
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎12-13-2012
My Device: 10 alpha

Re: WebWorks Linux SDK?

Thanks @nukulb, it's succesfully installed then :-)