Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

Reply
New Contributor
arturolinares
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-29-2012
My Device: 9900
My Carrier: Iusacell
Accepted Solution

WebWorks in Windows 8

I've been using WebWorks in linux without any issues, but recently I moved my dev environment to Windows 8 and now I can't build my apps.

 

Here is the command I use, using WebWorks 1.0.4.11  (part of a Jake build) with the output:

 

> "C:\Program Files (x86)\Research In Motion\BlackBerry 10 WebWorks SDK 1.0.4.11\third_party\node\windows\node.exe" "C:\Program Files (x86)\Research In Motion\BlackBerry 10 WebWorks SDK 1.0.4.11\lib\bbwp.js" build/packaged-app.zip -d -o build -v

 

[BUILD] Populating application source
[BUILD] Parsing config.xml
[WARN] Build ID set in config.xml [version], but no signing password was provided [-g]. Bar will be unsigned
[BUILD] Generating output files

 

...And it hangs that last line. Always. I tried changing my Java version to 1.6 (I had 1.7), using a different node version (0.10), changing the node and java settings for compatible mode with win7.... with no luck yet.

 

Do someone knows how to solve this issue? I don't want to load a VM just to build apps.

 

Please use plain text.
Developer
peardox
Posts: 1,229
Registered: ‎03-20-2011
My Device: Playbook, Z10 LE, Dev Alpha B, 2x Dev Alpha C
My Carrier: 3, Orange, Vodafone

Re: WebWorks in Windows 8

I downgraded to Win7 owing to these issues

 

I purchased Win8 - broke my entire build chiain

 

It's a pain in the A but go back to 7 as - at least - it works

 

 

 




Click the like button if you find my posts useful!
Please use plain text.
Developer
peardox
Posts: 1,229
Registered: ‎03-20-2011
My Device: Playbook, Z10 LE, Dev Alpha B, 2x Dev Alpha C
My Carrier: 3, Orange, Vodafone

Re: WebWorks in Windows 8

Oh

 

Just noticed

 

NODE!

 

Try installing the 64 bit version (get rid of 32)

 

Going from memoty, you then want to drop to a command prompt and type

 

node update

 

Can't be positive - just trying to be helpful




Click the like button if you find my posts useful!
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
arturolinares
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-29-2012
My Device: 9900
My Carrier: Iusacell

Re: WebWorks in Windows 8

Didn't work. I tried several versions of node in my system and also replacing the bundled one in the SDK/third_party folder, still no go.

 

Maybe its not node, but other tools I found in that folder: jnext, wrench, data2xml.

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
arturolinares
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-29-2012
My Device: 9900
My Carrier: Iusacell

Re: WebWorks in Windows 8

What version of java and SDK are you using? Do you have a separate version of node running? 

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
arturolinares
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-29-2012
My Device: 9900
My Carrier: Iusacell

Re: WebWorks in Windows 8

No solution for win8? Everybody is working on mac or win7? 

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor
twindsor
Posts: 792
Registered: ‎07-15-2008
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: WebWorks in Windows 8

Make sure your Java is also 32-bit. It doesn't work with 64-bit, and this is the kind of weird thing that seems to happen.

Tim Windsor
Application Development Advisor II
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
arturolinares
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-29-2012
My Device: 9900
My Carrier: Iusacell

Re: WebWorks in Windows 8

After hours of tracing the bug, I found the culprit: ansicon (https://github.com/adoxa/ansicon). Ugh.

 

In case someone has the same issue, just disable ansicon with:

 

> ansicon -u 

 

Thats it. At the end the sdk even works with JRE 1.7 lol

Please use plain text.