Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

Reply
Contributor
ananddrs
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎10-08-2010
My Device: 9700

drop down list using select and option tags

Hello,

 

I am using 9780 simulator with OS 6.0.0.294 with focus-based navigation. In the code I have simple drop down list i.e.

<select name="Select1">
            <option selected="selected">Yes</option>
            <option>No</option>
  </select>

 

When the drop down list gains focus it pops up the list right away instead of waiting for the user to click on it and pops up the list. I am not certain if I miss anything here or not.

 

I know that in OS 5 there is a bug https://www.blackberry.com/jira/browse/WEBAPI-55 but not certain about OS 6.

 

Thank you.

 

 

Please use plain text.
Developer
jmace
Posts: 482
Registered: ‎10-24-2008
My Device: 9300

Re: drop down list using select and option tags

Hello ananddrs,

 

I've noted the same issue on a 9700 and an 9300 device on OS 6 @ http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/Web-Development/lt-Select-gt-shows-options-on-focus-by-defaul...

 

My work around was to create another focusable item above or below the select , capturing the onUp or onDown (ie... x-blackberry-onUp) and jump over the select. Also, catch the onclick event of your hidden focus element and at that point, set the focus on the <select>. 

 

It is a little bit of extra code, but it gets around the onfocus defaults of the select in OS 6.

_________________________________________
www.jasonmace.com/blackberry
Please use plain text.
Contributor
ananddrs
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎10-08-2010
My Device: 9700

Re: drop down list using select and option tags

Thank you very much. This helps alot.

 

A

Please use plain text.
Retired
tneil
Posts: 3,708
Registered: ‎10-16-2008
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: drop down list using select and option tags

We have this logged as a bug and we will be looking to see what we can do to correct the issue

Tim Neil
Director, Application Platform & Tools Product Management
Follow me on Twitter
Please use plain text.
Developer
jmace
Posts: 482
Registered: ‎10-24-2008
My Device: 9300

Re: drop down list using select and option tags

Hey guys, additional note...

 

On the Torch specifically (6.0.0.246), if you switch focus to a select ( blackberry.focus.setFocus('mySelect'); ) it does not follow the same behavior as the non-touch devices. The only way I've been able to show the options of a select on a Torch has been by touching the screen. Clicking the trackpad while focused on the select does not show it's options. 

_________________________________________
www.jasonmace.com/blackberry
Please use plain text.
Developer
lasterra
Posts: 80
Registered: ‎06-26-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: drop down list using select and option tags

Is there any resolution for this bug? i think this is a critical issue.

 

lasterra.

Please use plain text.