Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

Reply
Contributor
sebapalus
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎07-11-2012
My Carrier: Polkomtel

input type=number in BB10 without decimal point on virtual keyboard

Hello

I have a HTML5 element defined as follows:

<input type="number" min="0.01" step="any" name="foo"/>

When I click on it via BB10 Dev Alpha (10.0.9.1103), I get numeric keyboard (which is good), but without decimal points (which is very bad).

According to http://www.w3.org/TR/html-markup/input.number.html floating numbers should be accepted.

 

On Playbook (2.1.0.1088), the behaviour is even weirder, because it shows me numeric keyboard for a milisecond and then changes to the full one

 

Is it going to be resolved soon, or we are stuck with input type="text" and JS validation on input?

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor
chadtatro
Posts: 604
Registered: ‎10-01-2009
My Carrier: Bell

Re: input type=number in BB10 without decimal point on virtual keyboard

Hello,

 

I'm checking into this.  I'll report back as soon as I have news.

 

Thanks!

Chad Tetreault | App Development Consultant | BlackBerry Developer Relations | developer.blackberry.com | @chadtatro
Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor
chadtatro
Posts: 604
Registered: ‎10-01-2009
My Carrier: Bell

Re: input type=number in BB10 without decimal point on virtual keyboard

So it looks like yes, the teams are aware of this issue and are working towards correcting it.

 

 

Chad Tetreault | App Development Consultant | BlackBerry Developer Relations | developer.blackberry.com | @chadtatro
Please use plain text.
Contributor
sebapalus
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎07-11-2012
My Carrier: Polkomtel

Re: input type=number in BB10 without decimal point on virtual keyboard

Great!
If we're on this topic, this "numeric keypad" should be completely changed for a web view. If you're aware of all these, then very good! But I'd like to have a full reference here anyway to avoid creating new tickets for the same issue :smileyhappy:

In fact input type="number" doesn't allow hexadecimal (A-F) and should allow,besides decimal point, minus ("-") sign (if "min" attribute is set to a non-negative number).

Here's the full definition from W3 data type reference:
A floating-point number consists of the following parts, in exactly the following order:

  1. Optionally, the first character may be a "-" character.
  2. One or more characters in the range "0-9".
  3. Optionally, the following parts, in exactly the following order:
    1. a "." character
    2. one or more characters in the range "0-9"
  4. Optionally, the following parts, in exactly the following order:
    1. a "e" character or "E" character
    2. optionally, a "-" character or "+" character
    3. One or more characters in the range "0-9".
Please use plain text.
Contributor
kamote_empire
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎09-28-2012
My Carrier: Sun Cellular

until now with the updated OS this hasn't been resolved

until now with the updated OS this hasn't been resolved

Please use plain text.
Developer
nunodonato
Posts: 313
Registered: ‎03-28-2012
My Carrier: TMN

Re: until now with the updated OS this hasn't been resolved

I reported this a long time ago in the playbook, too bad its also like this in bb10 :smileysad:

Nuno
theBBthing.wordpress.com - my BlackBerry development blog: news, tips and tutorials
bitoutsidethebox.com - re-imagining digital solutions


Please use plain text.
Contributor
kamote_empire
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎09-28-2012
My Carrier: Sun Cellular

Re: until now with the updated OS this hasn't been resolved

how do you report the problem so I can also make a report, I had to make a script to validate the user input the old fashioned way becuase input type-number doesn't have a decimal place

Please use plain text.
Developer
nunodonato
Posts: 313
Registered: ‎03-28-2012
My Carrier: TMN

Re: until now with the updated OS this hasn't been resolved

I think I did it via github at the time...

you can use some javascript functions like isNaN() to help you workaround it.

Nuno
theBBthing.wordpress.com - my BlackBerry development blog: news, tips and tutorials
bitoutsidethebox.com - re-imagining digital solutions


Please use plain text.
New Contributor
UberApps
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-08-2012
My Carrier: N/A

Re: input type=number in BB10 without decimal point on virtual keyboard

Just wondering if anyone knows if this has been fixed yet in the latest BB10 betas? I don't have a BB10 device, I have a Playbook on OS 2.1 and this issue is a little annoying.

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor
chadtatro
Posts: 604
Registered: ‎10-01-2009
My Carrier: Bell

Re: input type=number in BB10 without decimal point on virtual keyboard

The issue is being tracked, there's no update just yet but I'll follow-up with them.

Chad Tetreault | App Development Consultant | BlackBerry Developer Relations | developer.blackberry.com | @chadtatro
Please use plain text.