Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

Reply
New Contributor
mdamt
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-29-2013
My Device: Dev Alpha
Accepted Solution

libbbm.so cannot be found

[ Edited ]

I have a bbm connected webworks app. After upgrading to 10.9.9.339, the program complains (in dev alpha A) that it can't find libbbm.so. I use both gold SDK and github version, with the same result.

 

This is snippet of my config.xml:

<rim:permissions>
   <rim:permit>bbm_connect</rim:permit>
</rim:permissions>
<feature id="blackberry.bbm.platform"/>

 

I check in the device and can find the libbbm.so

$ ls -l /accounts/1000/appdata/simayabbm.testDev_simayabbm__687d43fb/app/native/plugins/jnext/* 
-rw-rw---- 1 apps dev9 32 Jan 29 16:22 /accounts/1000/appdata/simayabbm.testDev_simayabbm__687d43fb/app/native/plugins/jnext/auth.txt
-rwxrwx--- 1 apps dev9 47042 Jan 29 16:22 /accounts/1000/appdata/simayabbm.testDev_simayabbm__687d43fb/app/native/plugins/jnext/libbbm.so
-rwxrwx--- 1 apps dev9 183072 Jan 29 16:22 /accounts/1000/appdata/simayabbm.testDev_simayabbm__687d43fb/app/native/plugins/jnext/libutils.so

 

Interestingly, the sample code in the url below also got broken with the same error.

https://github.com/blackberry/BB10-WebWorks-Samples/tree/master/bbm

 

 

Any known remedy for this? Thanks.

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor
MSohm
Posts: 14,649
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, BlackBerry PlayBook

Re: libbbm.so cannot be found

Did you update the way in which your project references webworks.js?  Details are here:

 

The HTML5 key to the doors of BlackBerry World (aka BlackBerry 10 WebWorks SDK Updated)

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
mdamt
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-29-2013
My Device: Dev Alpha

Re: libbbm.so cannot be found

Yes both my project and the bbm sample reference webworks with this line:

 

  <script src="local:///chrome/webworks.js"></script>

 My other webworks which uses my own extension has no problem.

Please use plain text.
Developer
JRab
Posts: 2,462
Registered: ‎11-04-2010
My Device: Bold 9700

Re: libbbm.so cannot be found

Hey mdamt,

 

Ahh man -- I ran into the same issue a few days back -- turns out you can't use the BBM features until you sign your app. Chances are you are trying to use the BBM API while in debug mode -- sign it and run it again and the error should go away. Good luck!

J. Rab (Blog) (Twitter)
--
1. If you liked my post or found it useful please click on the thumbs up and provide a Like!
2. If my post solved your problem please click on the Accept as Solution button. Much appreciated!

Approved Apps: OnTrack | ssShots | Hangman
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
mdamt
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-29-2013
My Device: Dev Alpha

Re: libbbm.so cannot be found

Wow JRab, you're my hero! :Rockon:

Please use plain text.
Developer
JRab
Posts: 2,462
Registered: ‎11-04-2010
My Device: Bold 9700

Re: libbbm.so cannot be found

haha just glad i could help :smileyhappy:

J. Rab (Blog) (Twitter)
--
1. If you liked my post or found it useful please click on the thumbs up and provide a Like!
2. If my post solved your problem please click on the Accept as Solution button. Much appreciated!

Approved Apps: OnTrack | ssShots | Hangman
Please use plain text.
Developer
asiayeah
Posts: 120
Registered: ‎11-05-2011
My Device: Z10, Bold 9900

Re: libbbm.so cannot be found

[ Edited ]

I've a similar but slightly different problem.

 

My BBM connected WebWorks work fine in Dev Alph A (latest build), but when I tried it in Dev Alpha Simulator (BB10_0_10.261), it displays "Require Error Can't find /usr/lib/webplatform/plugins/jnext/libbbm.so Library cannot be found."

 

I've telnet into the Dev Alpha Simulator and indeed cannot find /usr/lib/webplatform/plugins/jnext/libbbm.so there.

 

Is there a problem with the Dev Alpha Simulator in testing BBM connected WebWorks app?

 

Thank you.

Please use plain text.