Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

Reply
Developer
Posts: 128
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
My Device: Bold 9900, 9810, 9780, 9650 and so many others
My Carrier: T-Mobile
Accepted Solution

runOnStartUp for BB10

Hi,


I want to write a BB10 app that is always running. I know for BB5-7 it is possible to do this:

 

<content src="index.html"> <rim:background src="background.html" runOnStartup="true" />

</content>

 

but the document states that this does not apply to BB10. Is that correct? If so, is there another options?

Developer
Posts: 1,229
Registered: ‎03-20-2011
My Device: Playbook, Z10 LE, Dev Alpha B, 2x Dev Alpha C
My Carrier: 3, Orange, Vodafone

Re: runOnStartUp for BB10

Yeah - I want that too!

 

Sadly not yet

 

Having said that it's in the pipleline

 

It'll be native first but I'm sure someone will write an extension for us all




Click the like button if you find my posts useful!
Developer
Posts: 128
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
My Device: Bold 9900, 9810, 9780, 9650 and so many others
My Carrier: T-Mobile

Re: runOnStartUp for BB10

Are you sure Cascades doesnt have it all ready? I am not saying you are wrong, just wondering if this is a WebWorks difficiency or whether all the Development platforms are missing this.

Developer
Posts: 1,229
Registered: ‎03-20-2011
My Device: Playbook, Z10 LE, Dev Alpha B, 2x Dev Alpha C
My Carrier: 3, Orange, Vodafone

Re: runOnStartUp for BB10

[ Edited ]

It was announced in Amsterdam

 

Here's a recording of the session (it's general so quite boring)

 

As I remember the talk about what's coming happens before WW (16 mins in) but it was a while ago

 

The gist was that Native get it then it filters to us




Click the like button if you find my posts useful!
Developer
Posts: 128
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
My Device: Bold 9900, 9810, 9780, 9650 and so many others
My Carrier: T-Mobile

Re: runOnStartUp for BB10

Thanks for confirming.
Developer
Posts: 1,229
Registered: ‎03-20-2011
My Device: Playbook, Z10 LE, Dev Alpha B, 2x Dev Alpha C
My Carrier: 3, Orange, Vodafone

Re: runOnStartUp for BB10

You worldn't believe the issues I had getting you that recording!

 

The message originally got rejected as possible spam...

 

It's a BB subcontractor I reference frequently with Qs like yours...:smileyhappy:

 

Anyway - they've let me post URLs properly now so you got it

 

Like me + Solve (if it does)




Click the like button if you find my posts useful!