Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

Regular Contributor
hobnob
My Device: BB 9900
My Carrier: Bell
Accepted Solution

want to develop - where to start?

Hello everyone!

I have a couple of ideas in mind to develop some apps for the Playbook and, if possible, to be able to port these to the upcoming BB10 platform in the future.

I'm rather new at this, but do have background knowledge in coding.

Where would I start with the development and what would be the best method to code for the Playbook and future BB10?

Are there specific SDK's, other tools, simulators that I can use. 

I've searched  around but the info I found seems rather convoluted.

Many thanks

Please use plain text.
Developer
The_Anomaly
My Device: Dev Alpha / Playbook / Curve 9300

Re: want to develop - where to start?

Get yourself over to the root site and download tools: https://developer.blackberry.com/

Get a SDK of your choice depending on what programming style you know.

Follow the tutorials

I for one like the easiness of jQuery Mobile, but I just wrote an app using bbui.js which is so dead easy.  It gives you BB styling across almost all phones, the Playbook and upcoming BB10.  With minimal effort I converted a playbook app into a phone app.  It really is a coool UI.

https://github.com/blackberry/bbUI.js

If you know web and HTML5 it's as simple as designing a web page, testing in your browser and then compiling with webworks.  You can even take existing websites and convert them into apps, provided there's no dynamic PHP or ASP stuff involved.

If it helped you, click like. :smileyhappy:
Please use plain text.
Regular Contributor
hobnob

Sweet, thanks!