Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

Reply
New Developer
wslfung
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎08-29-2012
My Device: Dev Alpha
My Carrier: Virgin
Accepted Solution

web inspector port undefined

I've been testing my webworks app on the dev alpha.  using bbwp with -d option but when I start my app on the dev alpha, instead of getting a <ip>:<port> for me to use, I get <ip>:undefined.  Am I doing something wrong?  Has anyone run into the same problem before?

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor
chadtatro
Posts: 619
Registered: ‎10-01-2009
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: web inspector port undefined

Hello,

 

Even though it shows as undefined, what happens when you try to connect to  ip:1337> ?  

Chad Tetreault | App Development Consultant | BlackBerry Developer Relations | developer.blackberry.com | @chadtatro
Please use plain text.
New Developer
wslfung
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎08-29-2012
My Device: Dev Alpha
My Carrier: Virgin

Re: web inspector port undefined

Hi Chad

 

When I go to ip:1337, nothing, just error from chrome saying it can't find the site.

 

nice session back at the blackberry jam in van BTW.  Started my app right after and just waiting for a few bbui components to complete before finishing it.  Did you ever get my email regarding "background service"?  Kinda waiting for that to decide whether I need to start looking at native development.

 

 

Wilson

 

 

 

 

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor
Nukul
Posts: 115
Registered: ‎06-06-2011
My Device: 9800
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: web inspector port undefined

So can you ping the IP from your machine?

@nukulb
Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor
oros
Posts: 1,557
Registered: ‎04-12-2010
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: web inspector port undefined

Just a few questions:
- Is Development Mode turned on on the device?
- Are you connecting through WiFi or USB?
- Which OS version are you running on your Dev Alpha?

Erik Oros | @WaterlooErik | eoros@blackberry.com | Developer Issue Tracker

If a reply has answered your question, please click Accept as Solution to help other visitors in the future.
Please use plain text.
New Developer
wslfung
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎08-29-2012
My Device: Dev Alpha
My Carrier: Virgin

Re: web inspector port undefined

Dev Alpha OS version: 10.0.4.197, with development mode running and deploying thru WIFI.

 

Another note of importance perhaps is that I'm running the bbwp and blackberry-deploy from 64bit linux version of node-js rather than windows or mac version.  node.js didn't give me any errors, I'm trying to get a hold of a windows machine to see if deploying and building from there make any difference.

 

Wilson

 

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor
Nukul
Posts: 115
Registered: ‎06-06-2011
My Device: 9800
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: web inspector port undefined

I can't imagine linux being the reason for this. I have run it on linux before without issues.

 

are you passing -d when call bbwp

@nukulb
Please use plain text.
New Developer
wslfung
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎08-29-2012
My Device: Dev Alpha
My Carrier: Virgin

Re: web inspector port undefined

Yes, I did use the -d and when the app starts, it does say web inspector enabled. Just without a port.
Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor
oros
Posts: 1,557
Registered: ‎04-12-2010
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: web inspector port undefined

As one more suggestion, it couldn't hurt to upgrade the Dev Alpha to the latest developer OS version:

https://developer.blackberry.com/blackberry10devalpha/

 

This would involve downloading an updated Desktop Manager, with updated drivers for the device as well, which could potentially have something to do with what's being seen now. It's a slight shot in the dark, but might be worth trying.


Erik Oros | @WaterlooErik | eoros@blackberry.com | Developer Issue Tracker

If a reply has answered your question, please click Accept as Solution to help other visitors in the future.
Please use plain text.
New Developer
wslfung
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎08-29-2012
My Device: Dev Alpha
My Carrier: Virgin

Re: web inspector port undefined

I planned to do that maybe tonight when I can finally get a hold of a windows machine... Haven't used one for ages.
Please use plain text.