Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Adobe AIR Development

Developer
My Device: PlayBook, Z10 LE, Dev Alpha C

Re: Adding RSS functionality

One more thing:  I'm new to AS3 and still not 100% clear on details of garbage collection but in at least the incarnation of FullRSSReader.as that I downloaded, I was concerned that it might leak memory since it allocates new variables in event handlers and I wasn't sure if/how that memory was getting released as the user interacted with the program and navigated from screen to screen.  If you are reusing that example code, you probably want to review your code for memory leaks, and if you have the paid or trial full version of FB/Burrito you might want to use the memory profiler and see if your memory usage levels out or grows without bound as you interact with your RSS feed functions.

Developer
My Device: PlayBook (sim)
My Carrier: Rogers

Just curious, is it possible to grab just the text from an rss feed? Right now I'm loading the whole webpage but like you said it may lead to memory leaks (and I'm including practically a whole web browser which is a little overkill). Just figure if I can get just the text it might be a little more reasonable.
- If you like my response/post, or it helped you find an answer you were looking for, please provide a Kudo - white star to the bottom right of this post. -
- Please use the search bar at the top, or check out the PlayBook FAQ's for help getting started -
- Hockey DrillBook -
Developer
My Device: Bold 9700

hey jffurian,

if your rss feed is in XML format (most are) you can parse the XML with actionscript code. it will be a lot more reliable than retreieving an entire page.

J. Rab (Blog) (Twitter)
--
1. If you liked my post or found it useful please click on the thumbs up and provide a Like!