Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Adobe AIR Development

Developer
My Device: Not Specified

Burrito components versus qnx.ui

Apologies in advance if I'm off base. I'm a Flash newbie.

I read somewhere that the qnx.ui components were necessary with Flash Builder 4.0 because the original Adobe ui components were not optimised for "touch".

Given that the Flex Hero release includes touch optimised skins; what is the current "best practise".

Should I be using the qnx.ui components or given Burrito was promoted on the BlackBerry web site, is it better to stick with the new spark components?

Developer
My Device: Bold 9700

Re: Burrito components versus qnx.ui

[ Edited ]

hey br14,

the main differences between Flex (spark components) and pure AS3 (qnx components) aside from the sturctural differences for me is the size and load up time. I've noticed that Flex apps are usually much bigger in size and also their load up time are a lot longer. not by minutes or anyhting, but just a few seconds.

AS3 in my opinion is lighter from what i've experienced. that being said how about some positives for Flex right? Flex has its share of advantages. One main advantage is its structure. It looks very similar to HTML and XML and is easy to adapt to if you know any of the former well. Also it allows you to use the GUI builder in burrito which makes it easy to visualize and position all of your components using your mouse.

For me, i choose purely AS3 because i like to customize the code and make it my own. I dont like it too much when the system does the work and i just do a little. im a control freak and i like knowing why things happens and how they happen. and the only way for that to happen for me is using purely AS3. the downside of course is that i have to visulize everything in my head but i've gotten used to it.