Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Adobe AIR Development


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎09-13-2012
My Device: 9900
My Carrier: vodafone
Accepted Solution

Cannot load application containing ane

[ Edited ]

When I try to load an app which has com.example.NativeCode.ane attached as External in my flash builder 4.5 ide it just loads and closes with no output from the ide. I think i am linking to adobe air 3.0 (if that matters in this context?).

 

 

I have gone through the process many times going off the 2 main tutorials out there (official RIM one and another), i.e create TestANE.swc, link to this and air sdk when exporting a .ane. This all goes fine. 

 

I have swf-version 13 as compiler option in both air projects, i have run_air_native as a permissions, I have the following in my myapp-app.xml 

 

<extensions>
<extensionID>com.example.TestANE</extensionID>
</extensions>

 

Why won't my playbook accept this appplication?

 

Thanks for any help.

 

 

Developer
Posts: 1,280
Registered: ‎03-03-2011
My Device: Playbook, Z10, Q10, Z30 with Files & Folders and Orbit of course
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Cannot load application containing ane

Not sure if this is still required, but in previous OS's one had to add a permission to the bar-descriptor.xml manifest:

 

 <permission system="true">run_air_native</permission> 

 Have you done that?

 

Files & Folders, the unified file & cloud manager for PlayBook and BB10 with SkyDrive, SugarSync, Box, Dropbox, Google Drive, Google Docs. Free 3-day trial! - Jon Webb - Innovatology - Utrecht, Netherlands
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎09-13-2012
My Device: 9900
My Carrier: vodafone

Re: Cannot load application containing ane

Hi, Thanks for your reply.

 

I have tried that kind of permission also, unfortunatley neither do anything.

 

Regards

Trusted Contributor
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎09-13-2012
My Device: 9900
My Carrier: vodafone

Re: Cannot load application containing ane

Can anyone confirm that fb 4.5 can actually load native extensions on to the device?

Highlighted
Developer
Posts: 889
Registered: ‎08-31-2009
My Device: 9530, 9630, 9800, 8530, 9900, 9810, 9930, PlayBook, Dev Alpha
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Cannot load application containing ane

Make sure you remember to link the .swc


Read my thoughts on BlackBerry Development at news.ebscer.com
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎09-13-2012
My Device: 9900
My Carrier: vodafone

Re: Cannot load application containing ane

Linking to swc as in going to build path and adding .swc?

 

It finds the TestANE but if I add the extensions deceleration in myapp.xml then it won't open on device.

Developer
Posts: 6,541
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
My Device: HTC One, PlayBook, LE Z10, DE Q10
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Cannot load application containing ane

Under Packaging for BlackBerry, under the Native Extension tab, did you include the ANE package (may have to resize the panel to see the Package column). You can also open up the BAR file to verify the ANE is in the package.

Also, is there a chance that it loads but crashes?
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎09-13-2012
My Device: 9900
My Carrier: vodafone

Re: Cannot load application containing ane

[ Edited ]

Hi jtegen,

I cant rule out an error in the code as it wasnt me who created it (copy / paste from tutorial), no output from from ide, it just always times out saying check your firewall when i  try to load with the extensions tag. By this time the app has already opened and closed on the device.

 

The ane is attached as an swc (due to ide being 4.5) which i have read an adobe tutorial indicating to do so. 

 

Thanks

Developer
Posts: 6,541
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
My Device: HTC One, PlayBook, LE Z10, DE Q10
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Cannot load application containing ane

Does the app run if you comment out the calls to the ANE?
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎09-13-2012
My Device: 9900
My Carrier: vodafone

Re: Cannot load application containing ane

no, if the extensions tag is there in the xml file the app will never open. Tried on 2 machines and the same happens.

 

Been at this for a few days now, cant understand what im doing wrong.