Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Adobe AIR Development

New Developer
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Confusing reviews

As an iPhone dev I've gotta say these reviews are pretty tame compared to most negative reviews on the App Store. And on the App Store you can't "deny" reviews, and similarly, you have absolutely no way of contacting your users.

Keep in mind that usually reviewers aren't very elegant or even coherent with how they write, but they pretty much always have good points, you just have to "read between the lines" a little bit. For example, if someone says your app is slow, it probably is... and star ratings will always be somewhat random. Luckily, your app is also competiting against other PlayBook apps, so it's a level playing field.

Unless your app is really, really good, it's probably going to have a bunch of negative reviews. Most of the apps I've seen are "cash-in" apps from devs just trying to get a free PlayBook. I'm sure there are a few great apps out there, but they're few and far between. 

The whole idea of denying reviews because they're negative is ridiculous to me. If they're offensive or spam, I completely understand, but it sounds like you guys are denying reviews just because they're critical. IMHO that's disingenuous and it's not fair to other users, especially if you have a paid app. 

Developer
My Device: PlayBook
My Carrier: N/A

oh reviews *sigh*.  there's not much you can do when stupid people post a review of your application.  i'm just glad we have the opportunity to remove reviews on App World.