Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Adobe AIR Development


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎07-13-2010
My Device: 9000 Bold
My Carrier: Airtel

Development Mode

Q1) Whats the special feature with the Developer Mode On?

Q2) Why does it say it will expire in 10 days?

Developer
Posts: 117
Registered: ‎12-03-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Development Mode

[ Edited ]

(1) Developer Mode On to allow you debug remotely. So you can use Flash Builder IDE, or command line tool to "communicat" with device to debug.

 

(2) It say that, but I am use it much more than 10 days, never expire. I think it may be just a security feature to force you change password disable debug mode, but at least, on simulator for now, it never expire.

 

---------------------
a) If you like my response/post, please provide a Kudo (white star to the left).
b) If my post solved your problem please click on the Accept as Solution button.

Developer
Posts: 6,473
Registered: ‎12-08-2010
My Device: PlayBook, Z10
My Carrier: none

Re: Development Mode

I believe the 10-day thing is intended to automatically disable developer mode if it's left on for 10 days, rather than requiring a password change.

 

I'd be surprised if many people had left their simulators running continuously for 10 days, though if anyone has and needed to re-enable dev mode they haven't reported it here.  I've certainly never needed to, but I think I've always had to restart the sim (or just wanted to) well before 10 days.


Peter Hansen -- (BB10 and dev-related blog posts at http://peterhansen.ca.)
Author of White Noise and Battery Guru for BB10 and for PlayBook | Get more from your battery!
Developer
Posts: 6,541
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
My Device: HTC One, PlayBook, LE Z10, DE Q10
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Development Mode

Once we get the actual PB device and it is connected to your computer via a USB cable, you will probably still want development mode for transfering and debugging apps.  I agree that it is a security feature that will probably disable after 10 days so you're not walking around with device wide open.

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-29-2013
My Device: Torch JM1
My Carrier: Optus

Re: Development Mode

Just wondering how i turn development mode on my JM1 mobile phone?

Highlighted
Developer
Posts: 6,541
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
My Device: HTC One, PlayBook, LE Z10, DE Q10
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Development Mode

What is a JM1 phone? There are Z10, Q10, Q5, Dev Alpha B, Dev Alpha C phones that run BB10.