Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Adobe AIR Development

Developer
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Effective Debugging On-Device

sberfield wrote:
I guess It really has been a long time since I was an active developer if the current PB tools are so painful for folks to use. Clearly some of you folks never worked on anything prior to theyear 2010 or something. Anything where I am not using a hex editor, an EPROM burner, and a logic probe is a win.

Haha, what is this? Are you being condescending, or pulling the old "walked uphill both ways to school" kind of thing, or what? Whether or not you think it's a bonus to have some sort of gui or whatever is irrelevant. The fact is, I bought a Droid from someone on craigslist, and within about 90 minutes, I had the development environment all ready to go, and was deploying directly to the phone, yet it takes HOURS upon HOURS to get the PlayBook right, and that's not even counting the waiting time for keys. I just don't see why it has to be so hard and complicated with keys, and passwords, and silent failures, and doing things manually on the command line, and setting up PATH variables, and setting up custom builders, etc etc. I'm a very good BlackBerry programmer, yet here I am asking questions about installation and configuration. That means there's a serious problem. How could I possibly recommend this to a casual or novice programmer?

The point is, I should have been able to plug this thing in, install a driver, enable development mode, and deploy straight to the device, no questions asked. That's how it is with Android and iOS. That's the standard that developers expect in 2011.

Developer

[ Edited ]

I was pretty down on the Playbook process as well.