Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Adobe AIR Development

My Device: Not Specified

Getting Started with Aptana

I'm new to this type of development, what are the steps to starting a new Adobe Air project in Aptana for tablet os development? Do y'all suggest I bite the bullet and purchase Flash Builder?

I appreciate it!

Joshua A. Ceaser

Developer

Re: Getting Started with Aptana

Hi,

Aptana is Eclipse based so you can use it to run compilations with command line tools for free but it won't give you specific Flex / AIR features out-of-the-box. As it is Eclipse-based, you can still install the Flash Builder Plugin over it. Here is a quick guide:

http://blog.flashgen.com/2007/10/12/flex-builder-aptana-and-air/

Of course, you will have to pay for Flash Builder (one shot) but in my opinion, it's worth the money as it makes you a lot more productive

Fabien

Hope this helps,
Fabien

--
1. If you liked my post or found it useful please click on the white star and provide a Kudo!
2. If my post solved your problem please click on the Accept as Solution button. Much appreciated!
New Contributor

this is a joke dev env.

The $699 tool doesnt work.  I keep getting internal errors on compile.

I actually like BB.

I hate how you are trying to kill this product before it's launch!

The dev env should be free (then I'll accept a few bugs).

XCode even provides a gui builder.  It is a joke that you dont!

I'm really trying to not freak out and leave BB forever.

BB DEV TEAM:  What are you guys putting in your pipe?

Developer

Flash Builder 4 Standard (you don't need the pro edition) is only worth 250$ and there aint any internal error or you are doing something wrong (either at install or your java params).

Just to clarify

Fabien

Hope this helps,
Fabien

--