Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Adobe AIR Development

Contributor
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: None

How to choose??

[ Edited ]

I am a very new developer with some programming experience.

Say I want to create a simple tic tac toe game which rich graphics, how do I choose my technology?

For playbook,

do I choose

Flash

HTML5, CSS, Javascript (webworks)

or Java Dev??

What are the advantages over the other? performance?

thanks!

Developer
My Device: PlayBook, Z10
My Carrier: none

Re: How to choose??

Do you know any of those to begin with? That should be a primary consideration, unless you're so new at this it would mean nothing. For example, if you're pretty familiar with web (HTML etc) page design, then going the WebWorks route would be best for you.

Java is simply not an option: there's no Java support for PlayBook (BBX) now, or on the horizon.

The only other option you didn't mention is "native" stuff, which means using C or C++. This isn't a good choice for you at this stage, and for the app you describe.

Performance is also not really a concern: any of the available options have more than adequate performance for tic-tac-toe.

I'd suggest you start with the web stuff (HTML5) etc and go from there. You can always switch and not lose everything you've done: the assets you create (images, backgrounds, sounds) could be migrated between the different environments.

Note that there are separate forums for WebWorks and the Native SDK, though this is still sort of the "flagship" forum for the PlayBook, which some people come to for PlayBook development stuff by default, unless their question relates very specifically to the other environments.

Peter Hansen -- (BB10 and dev-related blog posts at http://peterhansen.ca.)