Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Adobe AIR Development

Reply
Developer
Posts: 6,541
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
My Device: HTC One, PlayBook, LE Z10, DE Q10
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: I have a problem with the playbook simulator

[ Edited ]

RIM does not pre-announce release dates. Seeing that simulators correspond with SDK updates, I am going to *guess* that it might be many months before we see another update. Probably when the BBM APIs are released.

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-22-2012
My Device: Simulator only (developer)
My Carrier: none

Re: I have a problem with the playbook simulator

Thanks for your reply.

It's a shame that there's no continuous release systems where these goodies would be available when they become ready :/

I guess I then have to develop only on windows, there the simulator works just fine.
BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 118
Registered: ‎11-01-2011
My Device: N/A
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: I have a problem with the playbook simulator

Safe mode is now available as a boot option on the latest simulator posted at http://developer.blackberry.com/native.  When booting the simulator please select the safe boot option and it will load the software fallback instead of the hardware driver. 

 

Please let me know if you run into any problems with this fallback. 

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-22-2012
My Device: Simulator only (developer)
My Carrier: none

Re: I have a problem with the playbook simulator

Great news! Quite a timing though, I just submitted my non-qt app to the App World, cause I was quite sure that I'll miss the deadline if I wait for the simulator update.

 

Doesn't matter though, I can submit multiple apps now, thanks! Smiley Happy

Contributor
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎02-05-2012
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: T-Mobile

Re: I have a problem with the playbook simulator

That link doesn't exist. Could you correct it please?

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-29-2012
My Device: None
My Carrier: None

Re: I have a problem with the playbook simulator

Hi,

 

I have the same problem with BlackBerry Tablet Simulator that comes with Android Runtime (BlackBerryPlayBookSimulator-Installer-2.0.0-7109-Win-201201041944.exe).

 

Are you going to fix it too?

 

Thank you in advance for your answer.

BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 118
Registered: ‎11-01-2011
My Device: N/A
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: I have a problem with the playbook simulator

Here's a link to the download page, sorry about that.

 

https://bdsc.webapps.blackberry.com/native/download/ 

Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎01-19-2012
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: none

Re: I have a problem with the playbook simulator

Hi, daryl_martin.

 

I downloaded the simulator version you've told us and it works when I enter on safe mode.

 

Unfortunately some times its screen became totally black. For instance, when you rotate screen.

 

Do you have any idea what is causing that and how to solve it?

 

Thanks.

BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 118
Registered: ‎11-01-2011
My Device: N/A
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: I have a problem with the playbook simulator

Thanks for reporting the issue.  I will reproduce it locally in my environment and see if I can figure out exactly what's happening and get back to you. 

 

Daryl

Contributor
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎02-05-2012
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: T-Mobile

Re: I have a problem with the playbook simulator

Using safe mode the simulator gets past the starting screen message but now just hangs on the Playbook splash screen. Any idea what could be causing this?