Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Adobe AIR Development

Reply
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 152
Registered: ‎02-23-2011
My Device: dev alpha playbook 9500 8300
My Carrier: uc

Re: I'm this close to giving up

as my experience ,some exceptions ocurred while app init.

 

 best way , 
1 init app screen first , as simple as possible ,
2 then call main function, around  "try catch" block as necessary.

Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎02-11-2012
My Device: BlackBerry 9780
My Carrier: M1

Re: I'm this close to giving up

bdaemon thanks for responding, but I don't really understand what you're trying to say :x

 

anyway I found a thread on this white screen issue. Is this always true?

CrackBerry forum (opens in new window)

Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎02-11-2012
My Device: BlackBerry 9780
My Carrier: M1

Re: I'm this close to giving up

Hi everyone, and especially to those who are following this thread because you're experiencing the same problem. After reading the thread on CrackBerry forums, I packaged and signed my app using the Terminal, resubmitted it and it is finally approved and accepted by RIM.

 

While I am elated that I can finally be done with this bizarre episode, it means that something is broken in Flash Builder 4.6 that either RIM or Adobe has to fix. Packaging and signing the app in FB 4.6 causes the "white screen bug" as experienced by not only me, and the workaround is simply to package/sign it using the console. Even though it is not a major inconvenience, I still hope a mod can escalate this and bring an update to anyone who's concerned. I'd be happy to provide any system details on my part to help solve this bug.

 

Thanks to all those who offered your help! 

Highlighted
BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,723
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV
My Carrier: Bell

Re: I'm this close to giving up

Glad to hear you got it working.

 

I'm going to look into this one further.  When you packaged using the command line, did you take the swf created by Flash Builder and pakcage into a BAR file or did you also build the swf from the command line as well?

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎02-11-2012
My Device: BlackBerry 9780
My Carrier: M1

Re: I'm this close to giving up

I used the same exact .swf, which was made using Flash CS5.5. In essence, none of the files were changed, except in bar-descriptor.xml where I edited the build number. The only different thing I did was to package the .bar using the command line.

BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,723
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV
My Carrier: Bell

Re: I'm this close to giving up

The two bar files do have different SWF files though.  The white screen bar file has a swf that is 837 bytes in size.  The working bar file has a swf that is 688,117 bytes in size.

 

It looks like Flash Builder was modifying the swf file when building or creating an empty one.

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎02-11-2012
My Device: BlackBerry 9780
My Carrier: M1

Re: I'm this close to giving up

Seems like it then. I have not touched the source code/assets or .swf ever since it was ready to be packaged and submitted. If there's any way I can help in providing information please let me know. Cheers!

BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,723
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV
My Carrier: Bell

Re: I'm this close to giving up

Can you post the workflow you used to create the project in Flash Builder and package as a bar file?  Hopefully with that we can reproduce the issue and figure out what went wrong.

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker