Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Adobe AIR Development

Reply
Developer
Posts: 193
Registered: ‎12-29-2010
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: Rogers

New bar submission

pic2.pngHello guys,

 

I released a bar to App World Portal as version 1.1 of my app.

 

I then realized that i had changes to make, so I released another version of my signed bar under version 1.0.2.

 

I was under the impression that I would be able to remove the v1.1 of my app and replace it with 1.0.2 but instaed I had to do another "release" and add the new 1.0.2 version bar to the list.

 

The pictures show what I'm seeing on my app world account.

I priced the v1.1 as 99cents but the 1.0.2 was treated as an upgrade so I kept it free. But really, I want them to look at the 1.0.2 version, and want THAT to be released to App World, for 99cents and also qualify for the freepic1.png PlayBook...

 

Any ideas, if I've messed up? Or what changes I can make?

 

Thanks

 

G

Developer
Posts: 91
Registered: ‎01-26-2011
My Device: Torch
My Carrier: ---

Re: New bar submission

I would go into the vendor portal and then Edit the pricing for the Release 1.0.2 and make it priced at $0.99

 

I think after App approval, the higher version number is what is shown in App World when you Post if for Sale.

 

So, I think you may eventually have to submit a Release 1.2 or 2.0 with the latest updates.

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
My PlayBook Apps
Developer
Posts: 6,541
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
My Device: HTC One, PlayBook, LE Z10, DE Q10
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: New bar submission

Yes, you need to upload a "higher" release.  App World will not allow your to re-release under the same version as well.

Developer
Posts: 193
Registered: ‎12-29-2010
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: New bar submission

[ Edited ]

Ok thanks.

 

So I have to add a new product? And not just a release to the old product?

Is there any way to delete all the old stuff i submitted and start fresh?

 

Thanks

Highlighted
Developer
Posts: 6,541
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
My Device: HTC One, PlayBook, LE Z10, DE Q10
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: New bar submission

No, old stuff will remain there.  I am certain RIM could delete an entry, but the user cannot.

Developer
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎02-22-2011
My Device: Blackberry Torch 9800
My Carrier: The one I'm on

Re: New bar submission

Follow the exact same procedure you did when you submitted version 1.0.2 except this time submit it as 1.1.1 or a version greater than 1.1 this will ensure that the proper version is tested and submitted to app world. This will also minimize any possible confusion by the testers over at RIM.

 

Cheers,

David

David

Twitter: dmbproduction
Playbook App: Food Journal
Developer
Posts: 193
Registered: ‎12-29-2010
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: New bar submission

@dmbproduction

 

So I'll release it as 1.2...thats fine.

But just to be sure..."add a release" right? (as opposed to adding a whole new product, with the same name?)

 

And should I price this as $0.99 as well?

 

G

Developer
Posts: 6,541
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
My Device: HTC One, PlayBook, LE Z10, DE Q10
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: New bar submission

Yes, add a release.

 

Pricing is up to you.

Developer
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎02-22-2011
My Device: Blackberry Torch 9800
My Carrier: The one I'm on

Re: New bar submission

@gpatton yes just a new release since it'll be the same software. And for the price that's up to you. Did you set a price for the original version?
David

Twitter: dmbproduction
Playbook App: Food Journal
Developer
Posts: 193
Registered: ‎12-29-2010
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: New bar submission

Yeah I added a price for the original version.

 

But I figure if the original version hasn't been approved yet, and I set this new version for free, will people downloading it for the first time still be charged the $0.99?

 

And one last question, I'm guessing I'm doing this right.....all I have to do is change the version number in the xml file, and just do the "double signing" process right?...thats it?

 

no need to create a new certificate, or csk file or get a new csj file....just have to:

 

1. change version number.

2. double sign it.

 

?

 

So sorry for bothering you guys. I just want to get this correct before I make more mistakes Smiley Happy

 

G