Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Adobe AIR Development

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎06-12-2012
My Device: BlackBerry 10 Dev Alpha
My Carrier: TELE2 HR

Open Overflow Window of ActionBar

How to open Overflow Window of ActionBar in code.

 

 

Something like this... 

 

actionbar.openOverflow(); 

 

BB10 Air Developer
Developer
Posts: 6,541
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
My Device: HTC One, PlayBook, LE Z10, DE Q10
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Open Overflow Window of ActionBar

Overflow bar open when there are more action buttons then what can fit. Selecting a button/action will open the overflow bar.
Contributor
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎06-12-2012
My Device: BlackBerry 10 Dev Alpha
My Carrier: TELE2 HR

Re: Open Overflow Window of ActionBar

Ok, I'll try this and giove a feedback if this work. Thanks.

BB10 Air Developer
Contributor
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎06-12-2012
My Device: BlackBerry 10 Dev Alpha
My Carrier: TELE2 HR

Re: Open Overflow Window of ActionBar

Hi,

 

I try to make selection of some action in code, but with, no luck.

Can you provide me some code how to open owerflow menu when tap on some button on stage.

 

Thanks.

BB10 Air Developer
Developer
Posts: 6,541
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
My Device: HTC One, PlayBook, LE Z10, DE Q10
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Open Overflow Window of ActionBar

All I do is add actions to the action bar and if there are too many, the overflow bar is displayed from selecting the 3 dot icon on the right side. That is not working for you?
Contributor
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎06-12-2012
My Device: BlackBerry 10 Dev Alpha
My Carrier: TELE2 HR

Re: Open Overflow Window of ActionBar

No, no, thats OK, that is working, but i like to open overflow menu pressing some button on stage or passing some event., not by pressing 3 dot icon on bottom right thats working OK.

 

Thanks.

 

BB10 Air Developer
Developer
Posts: 6,541
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
My Device: HTC One, PlayBook, LE Z10, DE Q10
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Open Overflow Window of ActionBar

That probably would not be consistent with the RIM UX guidelines.

You might be able to mess around and listen to some events off the action bar and see if you can trap the action you are looking for and then duplicate that behavior as you described.
Highlighted
Contributor
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎06-12-2012
My Device: BlackBerry 10 Dev Alpha
My Carrier: TELE2 HR

Re: Open Overflow Window of ActionBar

Yes I know Smiley Happy , thanks anyway

BB10 Air Developer