Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Adobe AIR Development

Developer
My Device: 9650
My Carrier: VZW

Opinions After 24 Hours

For the first 6-8 hours, I hated this SDK. Hate. No free IDE worth anything, inconvenient packaging and installation method, etc. Finally, I just sucked it up and got the FlashBuilder demo.

The next 8 hours or so were pure bliss. I've never programmed in ActionScript before, but I got the hang of it quickly coming from Java and the tutorial videos online showed how amazingly simple it was to do P2P video conferencing. I would never in a million years have been able to do that with Java!

Then the last hour or two has been disappointing. There is currently no Flash API to access the camera or microphone on PlayBook or on Android devices. Bummer. Additionally, the easy-as-pie to use VideoDisplay objects that can pull video straight off of a NetStream with no additional configuration don't exist in the qnx UI classes. Double bummer.

So now I'm trying to figure out how to use the flashbuilder MXML editor to create layouts for PlayBook apps. So far no luck on that front but it's more than likely that it's just a learning-curve issue.

Long story short, I wish the high-powered Flash components worked for PlayBook development, and with any luck they eventually will. In the mean time, it's not incredibly different from Java so once we find a way to get rid of this blasted FlashBuilder IDE setup I think it will work quite nicely for all of you Java developers.

Developer
My Device: Bold 9900 + PlayBook
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Opinions After 24 Hours

[ Edited ]

MXML I'm afraid isn't just learning curve. The Features and Technical Overview document states: