Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Adobe AIR Development

Reply
Developer
Posts: 298
Registered: ‎05-02-2010
My Device: Bold 9700
My Carrier: Verizon
Accepted Solution

Simulator 1.0.1: Password failure then reset in Settings.

PlayBook OS 1.0.1.1630

 

Settings -> Security -> Password -> Enable Password

 

When I try to enable the password, the device resets (Your Playbook will now be erased.) each and everytime.

 

What am I doing wrong?

--Todd

Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit (6.1 Build 7600) | Java SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_24-b07) | Eclipse Version: 3.6.2 [M20110210-1200] | BlackBerry Eclipse Plug-in: 1.3.0.201102031007-19 | Java Compiler level: 1.3 | Targeting devices running OS 5 | Simulators: JDE 5.0 packaged 9700, 9630, 9300
Developer
Posts: 425
Registered: ‎03-17-2011
My Device: Developer
My Carrier: Telus

Re: Simulator 1.0.1: Password failure then reset in Settings.

Same thing happened to me. (I forgot that the default password was "playbook" and kept entering the wrong one)

 

I discovered that FB will now connect with any (non-blank) password so I .didn't bother to reinstall the sdk/sim. Despite the warning that the playbook was "erased" my previously installed apps were all intact. Actually, this is nice because now i don't have to reenter a password every time the sim starts.

_________________________
In the dark and need a sky map?
Discover What's up at App World.
Follow What's up on Facebook

Developer
Posts: 298
Registered: ‎05-02-2010
My Device: Bold 9700
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Simulator 1.0.1: Password failure then reset in Settings.

OK. Good to know.

However, how do I prevent this from happening every **bleep** time? I want to change the password Settings.

--Todd

Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit (6.1 Build 7600) | Java SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_24-b07) | Eclipse Version: 3.6.2 [M20110210-1200] | BlackBerry Eclipse Plug-in: 1.3.0.201102031007-19 | Java Compiler level: 1.3 | Targeting devices running OS 5 | Simulators: JDE 5.0 packaged 9700, 9630, 9300
Developer
Posts: 425
Registered: ‎03-17-2011
My Device: Developer
My Carrier: Telus

Re: Simulator 1.0.1: Password failure then reset in Settings.

This appears to be a bug in the sim - so you can't restore the password without reinstalling. However since everything works normally for debugging purposes (without needing a password reset) I didn''t bother.

_________________________
In the dark and need a sky map?
Discover What's up at App World.
Follow What's up on Facebook

Highlighted
BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎04-01-2011
My Device: Torch, Playbook
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Simulator 1.0.1: Password failure then reset in Settings.

The simulator has the Development mode and password set by default now. What you're saying is that you're trying to change the password?

 

I tried the same and have no problems, so could you please explain your steps again.

 

Thanks

 

 

---
Paulo Garcia
Developer
Posts: 298
Registered: ‎05-02-2010
My Device: Bold 9700
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Simulator 1.0.1: Password failure then reset in Settings.

It is described in my first post. In the path described, when I click on the button to turn the Password "On", the device resets.

--Todd

Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit (6.1 Build 7600) | Java SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_24-b07) | Eclipse Version: 3.6.2 [M20110210-1200] | BlackBerry Eclipse Plug-in: 1.3.0.201102031007-19 | Java Compiler level: 1.3 | Targeting devices running OS 5 | Simulators: JDE 5.0 packaged 9700, 9630, 9300
Developer
Posts: 425
Registered: ‎03-17-2011
My Device: Developer
My Carrier: Telus

Re: Simulator 1.0.1: Password failure then reset in Settings.

You can't change the password after the sim is supposedly "wiped" due to entering youir password incorrectly 10 times. Turns out the device is not in fact wiped and it behaves as if it were set to "password disabled".

_________________________
In the dark and need a sky map?
Discover What's up at App World.
Follow What's up on Facebook

Developer
Posts: 6,473
Registered: ‎12-08-2010
My Device: PlayBook, Z10
My Carrier: none

Re: Simulator 1.0.1: Password failure then reset in Settings.

Mine does NOT do the same thing (once I disable the password first), but I'm wondering why you even needed to do that.  The image arrives with the password already enabled, and there's no reason to disable it.

 

If you were just experimenting, I think you should just reinstall the image and start again.


Peter Hansen -- (BB10 and dev-related blog posts at http://peterhansen.ca.)
Author of White Noise and Battery Guru for BB10 and for PlayBook | Get more from your battery!
BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎04-01-2011
My Device: Torch, Playbook
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Simulator 1.0.1: Password failure then reset in Settings.

Ok, now I've got it.

 

First you had the Playbook Simulator "wiped" due to enter the wrong password 10 times.

 

Then, after rebooting,  you cannot change the password anymore, although you can still use the old "playbook" password, right?

 

 

---
Paulo Garcia
Developer
Posts: 298
Registered: ‎05-02-2010
My Device: Bold 9700
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Simulator 1.0.1: Password failure then reset in Settings.

@ That is correct.

My apologies, I did omit that detail.

--Todd

Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit (6.1 Build 7600) | Java SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_24-b07) | Eclipse Version: 3.6.2 [M20110210-1200] | BlackBerry Eclipse Plug-in: 1.3.0.201102031007-19 | Java Compiler level: 1.3 | Targeting devices running OS 5 | Simulators: JDE 5.0 packaged 9700, 9630, 9300