Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Adobe AIR Development

New Developer
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

Simulator issue: Off-centered white screen instead of application

[ Edited ]

Hello,

I'm new to the BlackBerry community, BlackBerry development, et al. Today I downloaded the SDK to test the TabletOS 0.9.2 simulator, but I have already spent several hours trying to get anything to run without luck.

The simulator installed with no apparent issues. I've been reading the forums today and I have had none of the problems that others have mentioned, such as a screen freezes or problems during boot up.

I am using a trial version of VMWare Fusion 3.1.2 under Mac OS X 10.6.6.

I don't have Adobe Flash Builder, so I'm using TextWrangler. I wrote an applescript that, upon saving my actionscript file, invokes a perl script (I know, sounds redundant but it works) and does the compilation for me as posted by Taylor Byrnes (amxmlc, blackberry-airpackager). I am able to talk to the simulator as my compilation output doesn't show any errors (as far as I know), but my application pops up in the simulator without the icon I provided.

When the application launches, all I get is an off-centered white screen with no content on it.

I also compiled the HelloWorld example provided. What I got was another application in the simulator with the default icon that did the exact same thing: Show an off-centered white screen. Every time I recompile either script with minor changes, the icons in the simulator flash for a millisecond, and then I get the same off-centered white screen.

Has anyone experienced anything like that? Any clues?