Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Adobe AIR Development

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
My Device: PlayBook

Re: Unable to register signing keys

Was not working late yesterday for me either. Perhaps that's when it started, let's see what happens in a few hours then!

Developer
Posts: 193
Registered: ‎12-29-2010
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Unable to register signing keys

Same issue here as well.

(Good to know that there is someone else in the same boat.)

 

I'll try later tomorrow I guess!

 

Maybe some servers are down? Since everybody here has had the same problem around 10pm (EST).

 

G

Developer
Posts: 2,462
Registered: ‎11-04-2010
My Device: Bold 9700

Re: Unable to register signing keys

Ah thanks for the update david Smiley Happy
J. Rab (Blog) (Twitter)
--
1. If you liked my post or found it useful please click on the thumbs up and provide a Like!
2. If my post solved your problem please click on the Accept as Solution button. Much appreciated!

Approved Apps: OnTrack | ssShots | Hangman
Regular Contributor
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎02-20-2011
My Device: Playbook (sim)
My Carrier: ATT

Re: Unable to register signing keys

good to know its the servers and not me... cause that would make me verry mad!

My PlayBook Apps -------- My Apps
Developer
Posts: 193
Registered: ‎12-29-2010
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Unable to register signing keys

[ Edited ]

EDIT:

 

7:35 AM on the east coast....anybody got it working?

mine is still giving the same error!

 

Never mind...just had to restart cmd. Smiley Happy

 

G

New Developer
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎12-18-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Unable to register signing keys

Just tried it again this morning. It worked for me now.

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-21-2011
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Unable to register signing keys

i am also getting a similar error when i try to register from a laptop.   I have previously successfully registered/signede on another system   The error is that that I can't register because there are no more registration attempts.  it says to conatct rim if you already registered and need additional users.   Any idea how to fix or if i need to contact rim, how?

 

thanks