Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Adobe AIR Development

New Contributor
My Device: Playbook 16GB
My Carrier: n/a

You gotta be kidding me - multiple issues with Adobe AIR getting started guide and hello world doesn't build

Bit of a vent. I'm a very seasoned C++/Java developer, with many different IDEs, but I have never before seen a "hello world" guide so riddled with flaws, errors and omissions. I bought into the recent RIM push for development on the playbook platform and came very close to deleting the tools and skipping it all, on the logic that, if this is the quality of the introduction, what can the rest of the tools and support possibly be like?

For example, the tools setup guide, https://bdsc.webapps.blackberry.com/air/, makes no mention whatsoever about needing a VMWare install for the simulator. That's a pretty big miss. You have to go into the hello world tutorial before there is any mention of VMWare.

Furthermore, when you finally figure out that you do indeed need VMWare to get things rolling, the only instructions you get on settings is this great line repeated in several locations: "If you have not already done so, use the deployment setup wizard to configure your development environment.". That's it. That's another pretty big miss.