Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Android™ Development

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎02-26-2012
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: None

BB10 Predictive Keyboard for Android Runtime

I got an email from a BB10 user that he is able to use predictive keyboard for other Android apps on BB10 but not mine. Unfortunately, I dont have a BB10 device yet to try it out. Can anyone please share ideas on how to enable this predictive keyboard within in the Android runtime?

Developer
Posts: 648
Registered: ‎09-26-2012
My Device: Limited Edition Z10, Playbook 16GB/32GB, Dev Alpha A/B/C
My Carrier: Mobile Vikings

Re: BB10 Predictive Keyboard for Android Runtime

I wouldn't know how you can enable this. I don't even know any tag or option that could enable or disable this. Is the user certain that it were Android apps in which he saw this functionality ? Maybe ask him/her which app it was.

I have no device, so I cannot really help you with the testing of this functionality; I can only share my opinion.


A like is always appreciated,
but a nomination for BB Elite even more :-)
You can also contact me on Twitter: @ndsmyter
Contributor
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎02-26-2012
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: None

Re: BB10 Predictive Keyboard for Android Runtime

He sent me screen shots from his BB10 device. The other app he provided as an example was the Wordpress app for BB10..

Regular Contributor
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎01-31-2013
My Device: Simulator !!!
My Carrier: 8608800458

Re: BB10 Predictive Keyboard for Android Runtime

[ Edited ]

Why are you guys (ndsmyter, Sriman) discussing predictive keyboard in the thread on the Back button?

 

EDIT: Duh, I clicked "Next Topic" but thought I had clicked "Next page" of replies, so I switch threads without knowing it. I've always hated "next topic" buttons cause I generally only read topics I click on.

Contributor
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎02-26-2012
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: None

Re: BB10 Predictive Keyboard for Android Runtime

What back button are you talking about? This is thread I have created for my question on the predictive keyboard...

Regular Contributor
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎01-31-2013
My Device: Simulator !!!
My Carrier: 8608800458

Re: BB10 Predictive Keyboard for Android Runtime

Ok, I'm a dork. I wasn't looking and clicked "Next Topic" but thought it was "Next Page" (of replies). Since my topic was just before yours, I ended up here.
Developer
Posts: 648
Registered: ‎09-26-2012
My Device: Limited Edition Z10, Playbook 16GB/32GB, Dev Alpha A/B/C
My Carrier: Mobile Vikings

Re: BB10 Predictive Keyboard for Android Runtime

Fraggle222, I think you are in the wrong thread ;-)

Although I would discuss something about the Back button if you want that, but that wouldn't help Sriman any further :-)


A like is always appreciated,
but a nomination for BB Elite even more :-)
You can also contact me on Twitter: @ndsmyter
Developer
Posts: 648
Registered: ‎09-26-2012
My Device: Limited Edition Z10, Playbook 16GB/32GB, Dev Alpha A/B/C
My Carrier: Mobile Vikings

Re: BB10 Predictive Keyboard for Android Runtime

Fraggle222, makes sense, have had that problem too. And that is how you learn something new everyday. :-)


A like is always appreciated,
but a nomination for BB Elite even more :-)
You can also contact me on Twitter: @ndsmyter
Contributor
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎02-26-2012
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: None

Re: BB10 Predictive Keyboard for Android Runtime

No one seems to have an answer for this question... I asked it at the BB Live and no one is willing to even spend a few minutes to look into this...