Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Android™ Development


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
Retired
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎04-19-2013
My Device: BlackBerry Z10

Re: Can not fetch location using network provider

Also ... on OS < 10.1, did you ever notice that the GPS_PROVIDER worked almost always indoors? Smiley Happy

That's because it was returning both GPS provided location and Network provided location (a bug). In 10.1 it will now return only GPS provided location.
New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-26-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Can not fetch location using network provider

AT&T here is yet to give 10.1 for us here. So I'm not sure when I'm going to get it.

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-26-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Can not fetch location using network provider

Is there a way for developers to get 10.1 to test if this actually got fixed?

 

Thanks

Retired
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎04-19-2013
My Device: BlackBerry Z10

Re: Can not fetch location using network provider

[ Edited ]

Developers that do have access to 10.1 HAVE verified that it is fixed Smiley Wink

 

There's a thread somewhere in this forum discussing it.

New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-26-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Can not fetch location using network provider

Okay Smiley Happy

Can developers like me, who don't want to wait until their mobile providers decide to update the OS, get access to 10.1 through any other means? Does Blackberry provide an option for that?

 

Thanks

Retired
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎04-19-2013
My Device: BlackBerry Z10

Re: Can not fetch location using network provider

New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-26-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Can not fetch location using network provider

Thanks. This fixed the problem.