Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Android™ Development


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎07-23-2013
My Device: BB 10
My Carrier: Virgin

Re: Signing application

Oh,  it is what I thought. I think somehow in the prosess we mistyped password...

Do you have a link to instructions on how to do it (clean-up and get a new tockens)?

 

Thank you,

Olga

 

BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,884
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Signing application

First, download a new BlackBerry ID Token.  Then create a new Developer Certificate with the same password.  To do so from Eclipse click on the Window menu, choose Preferences, expand BlackBerry, click on Signing and press the Create Certificate button, overwriting the existing one with the same password used for the BlackBerry ID Token.

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎07-23-2013
My Device: BB 10
My Carrier: Virgin

Re: Signing application

Thanks!

I will do it today and let you know how it went.

 

Olga

Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎07-23-2013
My Device: BB 10
My Carrier: Virgin

Re: Signing application

[ Edited ]

Oh, the same error - 

Error: The specified CSK password is not valid.

I got new ID and followed the instructions (copied / pasted my password from text file to make sure),  it created "author.p12" file and "barsigner.db" with size 0. I tried both - sign from Eclipse and use command-line tool to sign .bar file, but with the same result.

 

Is there any other way to sign the builds?  I can try another computer - but it needs a lot of things to be installed first...

 

Olga

 

Basically, I think it tells me that password that in .csk file I downloaded is different. I specified the same password when I downloaded ID and created certificate.
 
Update: just installed stand-alone Eclipse for Blackberry on different computer - seems that it is not working with Blackberry ID and does not have the same tools as plug-in for Eclipse.
BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,884
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Signing application

[ Edited ]

Did you remove your barsigner.csk file (make sure you have a backup of this) from your original keys?  Just to ensure it's not conflicting here.  You'll find it in these directories:

 

  • Windows XP:  %HOMEPATH%\Local Settings\Application Data\Research In Motion
  • Windows Vista, Windows 7 and Windows 8:  %HOMEPATH%\AppData\Local\Research In Motion
  • Mac OS:  ~/Library/Research In Motion
  • Unix / Linux:  ~/.rim

Also make sure your new author.p12 file is in the directory above as well.

 

Are you signing from a command line or from the IDE?

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎07-23-2013
My Device: BB 10
My Carrier: Virgin

Re: Signing application

[ Edited ]

Yes, I removed all files from Windows RIM directory and added new csk file there.

I tried both, Eclipse and command line with the same result.

Currently installed Eclipse Kepler and installing BB plug in for it on another computer.

 

Olga

 

Update: installed, but can't find the same Blackberry Tools ("blackberry-keytool and blackberry-signer" ) I used from command line. May be I installed them with Blackberry Native SDK (not plug-in)?  I see "signatureTool.jar" in Eclipse plugins folder so. Is it the same?  Can I use them with csk file and from command line?

 

As I see it - all I need are ability to create certificate and sign .bar file on another computer since my developer computer somehow stores invalid password.

 

Olga

Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎07-23-2013
My Device: BB 10
My Carrier: Virgin

Re: Signing application

Finally it worked!!

Seems that something was wrong with that particular project - may be because I tried to signed it with "old" password? Anyway, I created a new project and just re-assembled it - and  craeted three files from Eclipse - .bar, .lvs, and .wrn.

 

Looking forward submittin to app store.

 

Thank you for help - it was a long road!

 

Olga

BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,884
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Signing application

Odd that you had to create a new project but I'm glad to hear you got it signed.  Smiley Happy

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.