Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Android™ Development

Reply
Developer
Posts: 242
Registered: ‎02-19-2013
My Device: 9500
My Carrier: _

URGENT!!!!! Android menu will appear on BB 10 or not on porting android app to BB 10

I have android app. Now i am porting android app to bb10. My android app has menu buttons so when i port the android app to bb10 then menu items will appear or not in bb10.

 

Please let me know this asap.

 

Thanks in advance.

New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-08-2013
My Device: BB Z10 Limited Edition
My Carrier: Telkomsel

Re: URGENT!!!!! Android menu will appear on BB 10 or not on porting android app to BB 10

The menu in Android apps will appear in BB Z10 when you use gesture (drag from top of edge Z10 display to bottom).

Then the menu will appear from bottom of display, the menu is there in ther corner right bottom button.

Developer
Posts: 242
Registered: ‎02-19-2013
My Device: 9500
My Carrier: _

Re: URGENT!!!!! Android menu will appear on BB 10 or not on porting android app to BB 10

I am having menu options in my android applications. I want to show the those applications menu buttons as we do in android just press menu hardware button then menu items appear at bottom.

 

But I tried in simulator after porting apk to bb 10 then menu buttons are not appeared in bb 10 simulator. Please help me would they appear or not. If menu items appear then How.

 

Thanks in advance.

 

 

New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-08-2013
My Device: BB Z10 Limited Edition
My Carrier: Telkomsel

Re: URGENT!!!!! Android menu will appear on BB 10 or not on porting android app to BB 10

As I said before, the menu should be appear when you drag from top to the middle of display. That is the gesture that use in BB10 to replace button any button function. BB10 haven't back button, so you should use diagonal drag from bottom of display to middle of display.

Or just do it like this video
http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=rxKG3bwirUc&feature=related
Developer
Posts: 242
Registered: ‎02-19-2013
My Device: 9500
My Carrier: _

Re: URGENT!!!!! Android menu will appear on BB 10 or not on porting android app to BB 10

[ Edited ]

Please let me know more. I could not understand the drag from the top to the middle of the display.

 

I did like that open the app first in BB 10 simulator then I apply pan gesture from the top to the middle but still no menu item appear of the my app.

 

As you told "the menu should be appear when you drag from top to the middle of displa". Here you are talking about the any system app or user made app menu item.

 

My requirement is to show the menu for the user made app.(By Me)

 

Thanks

 

Developer
Posts: 242
Registered: ‎02-19-2013
My Device: 9500
My Carrier: _

Re: URGENT!!!!! Android menu will appear on BB 10 or not on porting android app to BB 10

What keyboard key should i use for this draggging. I drag from the mouse in simulator but no menu appear.

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-08-2013
My Device: BB Z10 Limited Edition
My Carrier: Telkomsel

Re: URGENT!!!!! Android menu will appear on BB 10 or not on porting android app to BB 10

first, do as you do to view the notification like in the video before.

http://img199.imageshack.us/img199/8141/x0y.png

then you should see this.

http://img62.imageshack.us/img62/1221/llur.png

 

 

but you do it in your android apps

http://img191.imageshack.us/img191/7753/yb6s.png

 

then will appear some option like this.

http://img6.imageshack.us/img6/8008/r4em.png

and click my sign

 

this is my created menu.

http://img543.imageshack.us/img543/7744/149u.png