Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® 10 Desktop Software

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-05-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Orange

Syncronising Z 10 with Blackberry Desktop

Gutted

 

My Blackberry Pearl broke and I waited for two months for the Z10 to come out.

 

Couldnt believe when I tried to sync it with the Blackberry Desktop that it isn't compatible !! So I basically can't import all of my business contacts to the Z10 !!

 

Surely if Blackberry flaunt themselves to the business community they must realise that being able to transfer data is critical . This problem wasnt  made to clear to me !

 

Can Anyone or Blackberry  suggest a solution ?????????????

Posts: 95,499
Likes: 24,546
Solutions: 6,396
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Syncronising Z 10 with Blackberry Desktop

[ Edited ]

Do you have a backup of the Pearl, made to your PC?

 

Will the Pearl power up at all enough to make a backup to your PC?

 

Oh, and you do have the current data in Outlook currently?



1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-05-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Orange

Re: Syncronising Z 10 with Blackberry Desktop

 

 

Hi - Thanks

Yes I backed up the pearl onto my PC but my pearl is completely broken.

 

The data is on Desktop Softwear - not sure if it in outlook to be honest or know how to check or move data from Desktop Softwear to Outlook even if thats possible.

 

Its really dissapointing tha Blackberry couldnt have made this an easy exercise or impossible in this case it seems !!

 

Hope to hear from you

Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎07-26-2011
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: T-Mobile

Re: Syncronising Z 10 with Blackberry Desktop

It's absolutely hopeless. My Z10 has now been returned simply due to the lack of Outlook synchronisation. The hopeless fudge regarding suing outlook.com is far from satisfactory.

And, like me, when the Link software won't even transfer information from my Torch to the Z10 using the Device Switch "feature"...well, there aren't enough hours in the day for me to **bleep** about with something that's plainly been rushed out to meet a deadline.
Posts: 95,499
Likes: 24,546
Solutions: 6,396
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Syncronising Z 10 with Blackberry Desktop


Gullane wrote:

The data is on Desktop Softwear - not sure if it in outlook to be honest or know how to check or move data from Desktop Softwear to Outlook even if thats possible.


You don't know how to look in Outlook and see if the data is there?

 

If you DO have the Pearl backup on your PC, you can use the LINK software to restore that backup from the PC to your new Z10.



1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎07-26-2011
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: T-Mobile

Re: Syncronising Z 10 with Blackberry Desktop


JSanders wrote:
If you DO have the Pearl backup on your PC, you can use the LINK software to restore that backup from the PC to your new Z10.

Can you? The "Device Switch" was a dismal failure here, and a manual backup of the old phone and restore onto the new similarly hopeless.

 

To add insult to injury, the Link software also wouldn't produce an error log so that it might be possible to see what it was getting wrong.

 

Three words - Rushed. To. Market.

Posts: 95,499
Likes: 24,546
Solutions: 6,396
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Syncronising Z 10 with Blackberry Desktop

Well, if you have time aside from the snarkery, perhaps you can restore from the previous backup.

My initial transfer failed also, but with some patience, I was able to restore from a previous backup.

And that was on the initial release of the Link software before the supposed improvements.

 



1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎07-26-2011
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: T-Mobile

Re: Syncronising Z 10 with Blackberry Desktop

Oh, I have the patience of a saint.

 

But not for poorly designed, basic-feature-lacking, rushed-out software.

 

I did try a manual restore from a previous backup. It failed just as magnificently as Device Switch.

Posts: 95,499
Likes: 24,546
Solutions: 6,396
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Syncronising Z 10 with Blackberry Desktop

I can't help if you can't be specific about what and where it failed.

Are you trying to restore all, or select portions?



1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎07-26-2011
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: T-Mobile

Re: Syncronising Z 10 with Blackberry Desktop

I appreciate your offer of help, but the Z10's been returned now. BB's Desktop Software has never been the best, but at least the older versions did a useful job once they installed correctly.

 

Even if the Link was able to do the backup/restore properly (I tried "all" and a variety of selections of important stuff such as "contacts" and "calendar), it still won't sync to Outlook, and that's the real dealbreaker.

 

Or it was until I found out today that BIS/push email's gone as well.