Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

Reply
Guru II
Posts: 21,723
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV; BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.2.2639; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Critical Update for OS 10.2.1.3175 to 10.2.1.3247

Yes, you should do the update via Sachesi. Otherwise you risk a dead battery that won't recharge, leaving your device useless.

No, you shouldn't expect any issues afterward. As with any update the device may be a little slow and use battery a bit faster for a day or so while your data Re indexes. Other than that there shouldn't be any issues.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-02-2014
My Device: Q5 SQR 100-2
My Carrier: Tesco UK

Re: Critical Update for OS 10.2.1.3175 to 10.2.1.3247

I ended up using the plugin for Google Chrome, as Sachesi couldn't detect my phone, even though Link could and it had mounted volumes onto my PC.

 

Plugin link - HERE.

Guru II
Posts: 21,723
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV; BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.2.2639; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Critical Update for OS 10.2.1.3175 to 10.2.1.3247

If you have mass storage mode enabled under Settings >Storage and Access then Sachesi won't detect the phone.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎07-02-2014
My Device: Z10 STL2
My Carrier: Optimus

Re: Critical Update for OS 10.2.1.3175 to 10.2.1.3247

...Rebooting 5%....

Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎07-02-2014
My Device: Z10 STL2
My Carrier: Optimus

Re: Critical Update for OS 10.2.1.3175 to 10.2.1.3247

Now running 10.2.1.2977.

 

Thanks!

Highlighted
Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎06-11-2014
My Device: blackberry z10
My Carrier: airtel

Re: Critical Update for OS 10.2.1.3175 to 10.2.1.3247

It's working fine for me Smiley Happy. Thanks John_clark
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-07-2014
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: reliance

Re: Critical Update for OS 10.2.1.3175 to 10.2.1.3247

[ Edited ]

To John

I got my new Z10 this saturday.i updated the software to version 10.2.1.3175..it was not getting charge.so i used yr critical method thing & updated it to10.2.1.3247 but still problem is not rectified.phone not charging!!! what to do??

Guru II
Posts: 21,723
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV; BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.2.2639; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Critical Update for OS 10.2.1.3175 to 10.2.1.3247

@shagun9116, we need more info. A device not charging can be either a defective/damaged USB port or a defective/damaged charger. Have you tried other chargers?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-07-2014
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: reliance

Re: Critical Update for OS 10.2.1.3175 to 10.2.1.3247

i tried but it was not working..so im getting a replacement

 

Guru II
Posts: 21,723
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV; BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.2.2639; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Critical Update for OS 10.2.1.3175 to 10.2.1.3247

A replacement what? You have to determine what the problem is first.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!