Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

Reply
Posts: 94,163
Likes: 24,317
Solutions: 6,329
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Upgrading OS10 devices using Autoloader


kermitt wrote:

Can I do this with a Q10/Z30 device without any OS installed previously?

Yes, any BB10 model...

 

What do you mean without any OS installed previously?

>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-18-2014
My Device: Q10
My Carrier: IUSACELL

Re: Upgrading OS10 devices using Autoloader

I have two client devices to repair: a Q10 with red light blinking and a Z30 without any os installed, only shows a kind of test screen, in this screen I can do a camera, vibration, button tests.
Contributor
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎02-14-2012
My Device: blackberry bold 9780
My Carrier: glo mobile

Re: Upgrading OS10 devices using Autoloader

Dear Jsanders. Please is OS 10.2.1.xxxxx officially released? So many people here have downloaded the leaked one. They are commending the version because of its unique features including radio and ability to download android applications directly instead of sideloading.
Posts: 94,163
Likes: 24,317
Solutions: 6,329
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Upgrading OS10 devices using Autoloader


vozkini wrote:
Dear Jsanders. Please is OS 10.2.1.xxxxx officially released?

No, it is not.

>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Posts: 94,163
Likes: 24,317
Solutions: 6,329
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Upgrading OS10 devices using Autoloader


kermitt wrote:
I have two client devices to repair: a Q10 with red light blinking and a Z30 without any os installed, only shows a kind of test screen, in this screen I can do a camera, vibration, button tests.

Please, explain this.

 

How is it even turning on with no OS installed?

What is this test screen? Can you take a picture of it and upload?

>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-21-2014
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Upgrading OS10 devices using Autoloader

Hello, I have to ask some questions about this process.

 

The main reason i looked this up is because I've to set up around 3-5 completely

new Z10's every day at work. Because the update is ~1050 mb's large, it takes quite a while

to download and install the updates.

So my first question is, will this process speed up the update...? Im asking because you don't have to

download the new update every time then, but you've to copy it via USB instead. You wrote that it takes around 2 hours, but since I got no files to back up and restore and you wrote it takes the most of the time, it should be way faster... shouldn't it?

 

The next question is that there is already a official 10.2.0.429 version that I use on my current Z10's.

Is there a download for it?

 

 

 

Posts: 94,163
Likes: 24,317
Solutions: 6,329
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Upgrading OS10 devices using Autoloader

The actual upgrade process itself takes about 5 minutes, no more than 10 minutes at the greatest.

The backup and restore process takes the large amount of an hour or more according to the amount of data on the device memory being backed up and restored. For brand new, unused devices, you don't need to backup or restore.

 

Download the file once, install many times with the one file.

 

OS v10.2.0.429 is the same as the 10.2.0.1803 in my link above.

 

Just a note, I am hearing heavy rumors that OS 10.2.1.xxx will be released shortly, perhaps by the end of this month. and 10.2.1.xxx is a GREAT improvement over 10.2.0.xxx

>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-21-2014
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Upgrading OS10 devices using Autoloader

Thanks for your help. It works perfectly...

I need ~3-5 min to Update the Blackberrys instead of 1 - 1 1/2h.

 

Posts: 94,163
Likes: 24,317
Solutions: 6,329
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Upgrading OS10 devices using Autoloader

Yep, then you'll be fine. It's a very quick process on the OS install alone.

>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Highlighted
Contributor
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎02-14-2012
My Device: blackberry bold 9780
My Carrier: glo mobile

Re: Upgrading OS10 devices using Autoloader

dear jsanders please assist to post a link to download OS 10.2.1.xxxxx for blackberry q10.once it's officially released.