Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-07-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Vodafone - India

Z10 Software Update

Dear All,

 

I have been having serious problems with my Z10 and I think it has to do with the BB10 software. I bought my Z10 when it was initially launch and it came with version 10.0.9.2372. I believe there are several updates since. However when I try to update the software on the phone or via Blackberry Link it keeps saying I have latest software which surely is not the case.

 

I am quite disappointed with Blackberry (and being a blackberry user for over 12 years) as they have not been able to provide any solution to this problem. I cannot use whatsapp and some other important apps that I use to use on my Blackberry Bold. What is the point in paying so much money for new blackberry when I cannot even use half the apps i was using before.

 

I tried to speak to Blackberry Centre in India (suprising Blackberry do not have any customer service no. in India) and they said they will charge me for the software update....I mean this is rediculous!!...what happen to the thing we call 'Customer Service' or 'After Sales Service'.

 

I even tried with Vodafone India and they cannot help either.

 

Please let me know if someone can help me otherwise I am left with no option to move to Samsung Android

 

Regards

Indian Summers

Developer
Posts: 1,185
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
My Device: Passport/Z30//Q10/ Z10 / 9900 / PlayBook / 9700 / 8900
My Carrier: ATT

Re: Z10 Software Update

have you try updating from phone?

You can update your BlackBerry smartphone OTA (Over-the-air) without connecting to computer. To get started, on the Home screen, swipe down from the top of the screen. Tap Settings > Software Updates. Tap Check for Updates.1

http://us.blackberry.com/software/smartphones/update/blackberry10-os.html
New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-07-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Vodafone - India

Re: Z10 Software Update

I have tried this on several occasions and it keep giving me message that i am running latest software which is certainly not the case.

Developer
Posts: 1,185
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
My Device: Passport/Z30//Q10/ Z10 / 9900 / PlayBook / 9700 / 8900
My Carrier: ATT

Re: Z10 Software Update

Do you know if your carrier push out the new 10.1 OS yet?
Which Model Number device do you have currently?
New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-07-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Vodafone - India

Re: Z10 Software Update

[ Edited ]

Below are the details:

 

Model No: STL100-2

OS Version: 10.0.9.2372

 

New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-07-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Vodafone - India

Re: Z10 Software Update

I am on Vodafone India and I do not know if they have pushed the updates. Saying that  should be able to update it on web or through Blackberry Link but that is not happening.

Developer
Posts: 1,185
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
My Device: Passport/Z30//Q10/ Z10 / 9900 / PlayBook / 9700 / 8900
My Carrier: ATT

Re: Z10 Software Update

[ Edited ]

Seems like you need to be on STL100-1 to be able to get the update.
Did you purchase your phone from Vodafone - india?
Oh remove the Serial No as its not needed info for this. just model & Os is fine.

New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-07-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Vodafone - India

Re: Z10 Software Update

I bought the phone from Carfonewarehouse in London. I was there to see their technician and even he can't help.

This is getting very frustrating for me to able able to use 'whatsapp' as I use it a lot for business communication.

 

Please help!

Developer
Posts: 1,185
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
My Device: Passport/Z30//Q10/ Z10 / 9900 / PlayBook / 9700 / 8900
My Carrier: ATT

Re: Z10 Software Update

Seem like the problem here is the Model of the phone you have.
You should be using STL100-1 in India. not the STL100-2.

New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-07-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Vodafone - India

Re: Z10 Software Update

[ Edited ]

But still I should be able to upgrade the software?