Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

New Contributor
My Device: Not Specified

BES-Exchange study

[ Edited ]

Hi,

First of all, sorry but my English isn’t very good. I’ve to make a report about the viability of installing a BES in my company to manage the 11 BBs they have. They want all the services, full functionality. I am new at the company and this is the first time I’ve seen one of this devices, so they aren’t very familiar to me. I’ve been reading articles and forums for days, but I think I’m getting more confused. At this point, I think I need:  

Server 1:

Hardware: 

• >= PIV DUAL CORE 2GHz, 3GB RAM, 500 GB HDD (Something similar or better)

Software: 

• MS windows server 2003 (SP1, MSMQ, Framework 1.1, J2SE, JDBC, MDAC 2.8 SP2)
  • MS SQL Server 2005 (Can it been installed with the 2003 server? Or do I need to put it in another PC?)
  • MS Exchange 2003 
  • MS Live Comunications Server 2005 (Again, here or in another PC?) 

Server 2:

Hardware:

• >= PIV DUAL CORE 2GHz, 3GB RAM, 500 GB HDD  (Something similar or better)

Software: 

• Microsoft Exchange 2003 System Manager (I think it’s the manager remote console)
  • BES 4.1 con SP4 (With MDS service, attachment deliver service, router service and collaboration service)

User:

Software: 

• Windows XP (JDBC controller, Framework 1.1)
  • MS Outlook 2003 
  • Desktop Manager (To connect the BB to the PC) 

Other questions: 

-I think I need 11 licenses to manage the BBs with the BES, but I don’t know if I need another licenses to use other programs (Desktop Manager or another from Microsoft) or I’d use them just purchasing them from a local vendor.    

-I have read about issues I can suffer if I install MS Outlook in the same PC with BES or MS exchange, but, there are other known issues mixing the programs in the configurations I’ve described above?