Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

Reply
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-10-2008
My Device: Not Specified

BES New Installation ?

We are looking to install a BES in our Exchange Environment, was looking for details on what I need to get started.

Separate box ? (I'm assuming so)

cost for the entire project ?

BES software ? are licenses free ?

Basically need all info, start to finish.

 

Currently I have over 25 users using BB8830 devices which I have manage through the BB internet service and use forwarding on exchange 2003 to forward messages from exchange to BB and vice versa. As for address books and calendars I have them syncing on their pc's using BB Desktop software.  I want to automate everything by implementing a BES. 

Highlighted
Forums Veteran II
Posts: 2,744
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Bold

Re: BES New Installation ?

I would recommend calling your local reseller or RIM for answers on pricing ...  or you could:

 

1) Read the documentation

and

2) Review pricing information

------------------------------
If you've found a solution through a post; please mark it as a solution.
If someone's was particularly helpful, give them kudo's!.


Get busy living, or get busy dying.

http://blog.port3101.org/hdawg/
Guru III
Posts: 32,114
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry PRIV, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: BES New Installation ?

Install BES PRO (supports up to 30 users) on seperate box no need for fancy just a p4 with 2 gig ram (can be had with OS for about 2k theses days) and raid 1 (someady you will get more users and wished you did buy a seperate server when upgrading to BES Enterprise)

 

License are about 100.00 USD per user unless bought in quanitity.

 

so 4500.00 USD can do it for 25 users.

 

 

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-03-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: BES New Installation ?

I would suggest you go with Blackberry Enterprise Server so that you can scale it to fit your needs.  I say that because my organization started with 15 or so and thought that Blackberry Professional was enough and just one year later we have over 70 blackberrie on BES 4.1.6. 

 

Whatever hardware you get I suggest a raid 1 or 5 setup with at least 2GB RAM.


BES System Administrator -
BES (4.1.6) with 71 Users
Windows Server 2003 SP1