Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

New Contributor
My Device: Not Specified

BES issues when migrating Exchange 2003 to new hardware

Hello all,

I am new to Blackberry Enterprise Server as it was installed in our domain by a previous network admin 5-6 yrs ago. The BES server is working fine; we are on BES 4.1.4 and have about 25 active users. The Exchange server is Exchange 2003 Ent. 

We are planning to migrate the Exchange server to different hardware shortly, mainly because the current server has started experiencing performance bottlenecks (its about 5-6 yrs old too). I am not exactly sure how BES will react after the migration. The new Exchange server will have the exact same name and IP address as the current one (I am following http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa997176(EXCHG.65).aspx, and a couple of other similar blogs/forums on the internet).

What changes/settings do I need to check/modify on the BES server!?  Will BES "just work fine" after Exchange is migrated!?  I noticed a "beremote.exe" process running on the current Exchange server in Task Manager.  Does this have to be installed somehow on the new Exch server..?!  how?

Any help/guidance will be greatly appreciated!!

Thanks a lot for all your help in advance!

Forums Veteran I
My Device: 8120, Storm, 8200

Re: BES issues when migrating Exchange 2003 to new hardware

[ Edited ]

http://searchtasks.answersthatwork.com/tasklist.php?File=Beremote this is what that beremote.exe" is. not a requirement for BES.

make sure to perform brick level migration, meaning everything in a mailbox should move to new machine including any hidden folders (BES creates 2 hideen folders on BB users mailbox). after EXCH  migration just reboot BES, thats all Smiley Happy