Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-04-2008
My Device: Not Specified

BES not recognizing Curve 8330

When I plug an employee's Curve 8330 into the BES I recieve an "unknown usb device" error message.  Has anyone else received anything like this?
Developer
Posts: 428
Registered: ‎09-26-2008
My Device: 9000

Re: BES not recognizing Curve 8330

Hi and welcome to the forums...

 

Any reason why you want to use the server instead of a workstation or laptop?

If you use and XP workstation or laptop, install the Desktop Manager and the appropriate hand held software. You should be able to control the BB that way and EA the device either wireless or wired.

 

H.


+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
If successful in helping you, please give me kudos in my post.
Please mark the post that solved it for you!
Thank you!
Best Regards

hmeister
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-04-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: BES not recognizing Curve 8330

I am new to working with blackberrys and BES, sorry if i seem a bit ignorant about this.  I plug the blackberry in the BES and than choose a AD User and set the phone to that person.  From that point on the user is able to sync up with their exchange account.  Does that make sense?
Developer
Posts: 428
Registered: ‎09-26-2008
My Device: 9000

Re: BES not recognizing Curve 8330

Hi...

 

Please excuse for asking questions as I am trying to comprehend your issue. I am still not sure of what your trying to do? Perhaps you can shed some light on why you think you need to plug the users device into the BES server?

Here is a quick overview on how to enterprise activate a Blackberry Handheld Device - link here...

 

H.


+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
If successful in helping you, please give me kudos in my post.
Please mark the post that solved it for you!
Thank you!
Best Regards

hmeister
Forums Veteran II
Posts: 2,744
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Bold

Re: BES not recognizing Curve 8330

Does this happen with all 8330 devices?
------------------------------
If you've found a solution through a post; please mark it as a solution.
If someone's was particularly helpful, give them kudo's!.


Get busy living, or get busy dying.

http://blog.port3101.org/hdawg/
Contributor
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎08-06-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: BES not recognizing Curve 8330

I guess you are trying to activate an user.

 

Two way to do it

 

1) Wireless activation

- Wipe the HH if necessary

- Add the user on BES server

- Set an activation password from BES server

- From HH, goto Options --> Advanced Options --> Enterprise Activation

- Enter email address and the activation password, it will start the activation process.

 

2) Activation over USB connection using BlackBerry Desktop Manager

*** I recommend install the Desktop Manager on your XP machine instead of the BES server ***

- Wipe the HH if necessary

- Add the user on BES server

- Turn wireless on, on HH

- Create a mail profile on your XP machine

- Launch the BlackBerry Desktop Manager and make sure it uses the user's mail profile

- Connect the HH

- It will ask you moving the mouse to generate the key

- Activation should be started

 

Hope this help