Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎07-08-2008
My Device: Not Specified

BES not reporting handheld information

I have several user accounts not reporting their handheld information listed under Handheld Management – Handhelds. It seems now when a user is activated on any BES this occurs and the types of handhelds getting activated include the 8330, 8703e, and the 8830. When I select the user account under Handhelds and then click view handheld details I get the following error message:

 

“No additional information is available for this handheld.

 

It may be running older software, handheld activation may not yet be complete, or Handheld Management data synchronization support may not be enabled.”

 

Is there an option to enable Handheld Management data synchronization support somewhere in BB manager? I have found where I can select edit properties under Handheld Mgt – Global PIM Sync, but nothing here mentions “data”. All that is listed here is address book, tasks, memos, message filters, and message settings and these are all set to sync enabled - true and sync type - bidirectional. We are running BES 4.0 for GroupWise and plan to migrate to Exchange sometime before the end of the year. Also, one of the servers is fully upgraded to the latest BES/Server patch and the other three are not but this issue is occurring on all 4.

 

Thanks in advance,

JParker

Guru III
Posts: 32,114
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry PRIV, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: BES not reporting handheld information

You need to update device.xml on the BES

 

backup you current device.xml and replace it with the one attached.

 

Cant remember if you have to restart the BES, as I did this months ago.

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎07-08-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: BES not reporting handheld information

Thank you very much. Cheers!

Guru III
Posts: 32,114
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry PRIV, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: BES not reporting handheld information

Your welcome.

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


Forums Veteran II
Posts: 2,744
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Bold

Re: BES not reporting handheld information

FYI, RIM has a hosted version of the device.xml (and vendor.xml) located here:

 

https://www.blackberry.com/Desktop/Download/XML/Device.xml

 

https://www.blackberry.com/Desktop/Download/XML/Vendor.xml

 

Taken from: KB13589 - How to update the device.xml file

------------------------------
If you've found a solution through a post; please mark it as a solution.
If someone's was particularly helpful, give them kudo's!.


Get busy living, or get busy dying.

http://blog.port3101.org/hdawg/
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-25-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: BES not reporting handheld information

Hi can anyone perhaps help me with a problem I have to connect to the enterprise service but it doesnt want to activate. Its says Error has occured please contact your system administrator. My system administrator says everything is working on there side!

 

Thanks

Highlighted
Forums Veteran II
Posts: 2,744
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Bold

Re: BES not reporting handheld information


Masefield_CPT wrote:

Hi can anyone perhaps help me with a problem I have to connect to the enterprise service but it doesnt want to activate. Its says Error has occured please contact your system administrator. My system administrator says everything is working on there side!

 

Thanks


 

1) Don't thread hijack; start your own thread if you have a question.

2) You and your admin should read: Identifying and troubleshooting enterprise activation issues

------------------------------
If you've found a solution through a post; please mark it as a solution.
If someone's was particularly helpful, give them kudo's!.


Get busy living, or get busy dying.

http://blog.port3101.org/hdawg/
Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎07-08-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: BES not reporting handheld information

I meant to ask earlier do the handhelds that have the missing data need to be re-activated on the BES for the handheld info to populate or does it refresh automatically?

Guru III
Posts: 32,114
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry PRIV, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: BES not reporting handheld information

Not sure about that but it is worth a try

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


Forums Veteran II
Posts: 2,744
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Bold

Re: BES not reporting handheld information


jparker1 wrote:

I meant to ask earlier do the handhelds that have the missing data need to be re-activated on the BES for the handheld info to populate or does it refresh automatically?


Unfortunately it depends what the problem is.

 

A lot of the time the easiest solution is attempting another EA as suggested.

------------------------------
If you've found a solution through a post; please mark it as a solution.
If someone's was particularly helpful, give them kudo's!.


Get busy living, or get busy dying.

http://blog.port3101.org/hdawg/