Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎12-02-2008
My Device: Storm 9530
Accepted Solution

How do I add another server to the domain

I am new to the BES world and have basically been thrown into it without any training. I have cruised around the forums looking for an answer to this question but can't find it.  We have one Blackberry Enterprise server connected to Exchange. I have been tasked with looking into BES redundancy.  We have about 212 users but this could double by the end of the year. Do we need more than one server? How difficult is it to add another server?  Do the 2 BES share a single DB or will I have to update both servers when I add a new user?  Any links to 'How to' articles are appreciated. Thanks in advance.
==================================================================
If I help you with any inquire, please click the kudos button - Thank you
And if my response solved your issue remeber to mark it as solved
Forums Veteran I
Posts: 2,036
Registered: ‎12-04-2008
My Device: 8900

Re: How do I add another server to the domain

[ Edited ]

Welcome to the forms, although 212 users isn't alot, most of the servers I work with have about 500+ users, and its supported up to 1000 i think , although this is not suggested.

 

To share the database, this is a great kb article

 

http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/microsites/search.do?cmd=displayKC&docType=kc&externalId=KB10500&slic...

 

Also this is a great KB article on how to move the users from one BES to another

 

http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/microsites/search.do?cmd=displayKC&docType=kc&externalId=KB11260&slic...

 

Its not difficult to add another server, although I suggest you read the install manual, if your using excahnge 2007

 

http://www.blackberryforums.com/bes-admin-corner/75890-exchange-2007-bes-install-guide-100-fully-fun...

 

 

 

 

Message Edited by bbhorrigan on 12-30-2008 11:31 PM
******************************************************************


If someone helped you give them kudos. Research all info!
Forums Veteran I
Posts: 2,036
Registered: ‎12-04-2008
My Device: 8900

Re: How do I add another server to the domain

great documentation on the service pack updates

 

http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/microsites/search.do?cmd=displayKC&docType=kc&externalId=http--nablac...

******************************************************************


If someone helped you give them kudos. Research all info!
Highlighted
Contributor
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎04-13-2008
My Device: javelin

Re: How do I add another server to the domain

if you are going to share the same database (this should be a remote database server), just keep in mind to uncheck start services at the end of the installation of the secindary server and go to services else the SRP ID will get blocked, change the startup type to manual. In case you want to switch from one server to another, all u need is to stop the services on the active server, and then start the services on the passive server. No need to move any users.
If I help you with any inquire, thank you for click kudos in my post.
If your issue has been solved, please mark the post was solved.
Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎12-02-2008
My Device: Storm 9530

Re: How do I add another server to the domain

[ Edited ]
so basically to make my current setup redundant I would have to make a mirror copy using a third party product or restore from backup.  To start over and make a true redundant system means purchasing another server license, MS SQL server license and CALs and storing the DB on a remote system. Build the servers to share the new database, then delete the users and recreate in the new domain.  Does that sound about right or did I miss something?
Message Edited by aala on 12-31-2008 10:37 AM
==================================================================
If I help you with any inquire, please click the kudos button - Thank you
And if my response solved your issue remeber to mark it as solved
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 226
Registered: ‎12-18-2008
My Device: All of them

Re: How do I add another server to the domain

Yes, you have it right.

 

I guess the biggest costs (other than hardware) are your SQL license and 2nd BES license.  You do not have to purchase a 2nd BES license as long as you follow the tips above to prevent the services starting so that the SRP key does not get disabled.  Another option is to obtain a temporary key from say a trial download, use that key for the 2nd server and if you need to fail over replace it with the production key as the trial key would only work for 30-90 days

==============================
Be alert!
.. The world needs more lerts.

If someone has helped answer your problem, or you think their post is useful, why not hit the green KUDOS button to thank them?
Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎12-02-2008
My Device: Storm 9530

Re: How do I add another server to the domain

Thank you to all who responded.  I received and email today with this link.

 

http://www.blackberry.com/newsletters/technicalsupport/s01-2009/s_2009_01_a01.shtml?MIG=4965F3D528A6...

 

and during my researchfound this article on user limits

 

http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/microsites/search.do?cmd=displayKC&docType=kc&externalId=KB01171&slic...

==================================================================
If I help you with any inquire, please click the kudos button - Thank you
And if my response solved your issue remeber to mark it as solved