Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-12-2010
My Device: Blackberry 800000000
My Carrier: Verizon

Mobile Data Service

“Unable to connect to the selected Mobile Data Service, please try again later.  If the problem persists please contact your administrator.”

 

I had to redo a BES installation recently and now nobodys BES enabled Blackberry can access any web pages. 

 

Somehow the BES is tied in to the Web Filters, because you will get the message on blocked sites, same as on office computers.

Guru III
Posts: 32,116
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry PRIV, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Mobile Data Service

 

If users can not surf the internet then do this. 

 

KB13618 - How to update the MDSConfig table referencing a server other then the one it should be map...

 

 

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-12-2010
My Device: Blackberry 800000000
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Mobile Data Service

The netbios name of the server didnt change. it is our PDC. I will try this out and let you know.

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-12-2010
My Device: Blackberry 800000000
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Mobile Data Service

I got this error message when running the bcp BESMgmt..MDSConfig

 

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator.DOMAIN>bcp BESMgmt..MDSConfig o
ut C:\MDSConfig.txt -c -T
SQLState = 08001, NativeError = 2
Error = [Microsoft][SQL Native Client]Named Pipes Provider: Could not open a con
nection to SQL Server [2].
SQLState = 08001, NativeError = 2
Error = [Microsoft][SQL Native Client]An error has occurred while establishing a
 connection to the server. When connecting to SQL Server 2005, this failure may
be caused by the fact that under the default settings SQL Server does not allow
remote connections.
SQLState = S1T00, NativeError = 0
Error = [Microsoft][SQL Native Client]Login timeout expired

Guru III
Posts: 32,116
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry PRIV, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Mobile Data Service

is named pipes enabled and tcp/ip?

 

Is this MSDE or SQL express?

 

 

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-12-2010
My Device: Blackberry 800000000
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Mobile Data Service

This is SQL express 2005 and I checked and found that names pipes and TCP/IP are both enabled for the Database it is on.

Guru III
Posts: 32,116
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry PRIV, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Mobile Data Service

You are doing this while logged in as the BESAdmin service account correct?

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-12-2010
My Device: Blackberry 800000000
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Mobile Data Service

Yes, I tried it as my besadmin account and got the same error message.

Guru III
Posts: 32,116
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry PRIV, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Mobile Data Service

I would try using SSMS and using a GUI interface can be easier.

Download and install MS SQL Server Management Studio Express

 

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-12-2010
My Device: Blackberry 800000000
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Mobile Data Service

Im not quite sure I follow you. I do have SQL Server Management Studio Express installed already. What do I need to do with it exactly?