Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-02-2008
My Device: Not Specified

New install and existing SQL server 2005

Hi,

 

I'm installing a new copy of BES on a server and it says it can't see the exsiting SQL 2005 that's installed on the server.

Any ideas ... the walk thru and the install guide don't address this.  I don't know much about SQL but the tool is called,

Microsoft SQL Server Management Studio Express.

 

Cheers'

Dave

Guru III
Posts: 32,116
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry PRIV, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: New install and existing SQL server 2005

Log into the SQL server and add account besadmin with dbcreator, server admin and sysadmin roles

create a DB called besmgmt

make besadmin owner of it

Log onto sql with besadmin account

Set up the data base with the createdb file(hopfully you copied the datbase folder from the install files to the sql server first)

 

Then when done have the BES connect to SQL and continue with the install.

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


Forums Veteran II
Posts: 2,744
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Bold

Re: New install and existing SQL server 2005

If you've installed SQL 2005 Express edition, the sql server name is not simply SERVERNAME or LOCALHOST or IP ADDRESS, but rather:

 

SERVERNAME\SQLEXPRESS

 

By default SQL Express 2005 installs as an instance and not as the default instance.  Specify WHATEVER\SQLEXPRESS and you should be able to connect happily.

------------------------------
If you've found a solution through a post; please mark it as a solution.
If someone's was particularly helpful, give them kudo's!.


Get busy living, or get busy dying.

http://blog.port3101.org/hdawg/
Guru III
Posts: 32,116
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry PRIV, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: New install and existing SQL server 2005

[ Edited ]

SQL 2005 or express is also locked down a bit during install

 

IIRC You have to enable protocols TCP/IP,Nammed pipes in order for BES to connect to it.

Message Edited by knottyrope on 08-21-2008 05:06 PM

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


Forums Veteran II
Posts: 2,744
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Bold

Re: New install and existing SQL server 2005

You don't need to change protocol settings if you install it locally.
------------------------------
If you've found a solution through a post; please mark it as a solution.
If someone's was particularly helpful, give them kudo's!.


Get busy living, or get busy dying.

http://blog.port3101.org/hdawg/
New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-02-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: New install and existing SQL server 2005

DOH !

 

OK, so now I'm lost ! (grin)  I just got back from a road trip and want to try to get the BES going this week.

I logged on to my server and opened the tool in the SQL called: MS SQL Server Mgmt Studio Express - the exe.

 

It opened a login to: SERVER\BKUPEXEC using my servers admin account .... so now what ?

 

Cheers'

Dave

Forums Veteran II
Posts: 2,744
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Bold

Re: New install and existing SQL server 2005

create a new connection to SERVERNAME\SQLEXPRESS
------------------------------
If you've found a solution through a post; please mark it as a solution.
If someone's was particularly helpful, give them kudo's!.


Get busy living, or get busy dying.

http://blog.port3101.org/hdawg/
New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-02-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: New install and existing SQL server 2005

Hi Everyone,

 

OK, so I made a new database in this SQL Server Management Studio Express program called: BESMGMT and the owner of it is the user on the server called VAUNTCOM \ BESAdmin ....... there is a bunch of folders under it called:

 

- Database Diagrams

- Tables

- Views

- Synonyms

- Programability

- Security

 

Can anyone clarify with this create db file or program is?

 

Cheers'

Dave

 

 

 

 

Forums Veteran II
Posts: 2,744
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Bold

Re: New install and existing SQL server 2005

createdb.exe is an executable that reads a configuration file (by default named BESMgmt.cfg; but you can rename the cfg if you want).  It creates a skeleton / shell BlackBerry configuration database (also makes the appropriate entries in the master table and creates sql jobs).
------------------------------
If you've found a solution through a post; please mark it as a solution.
If someone's was particularly helpful, give them kudo's!.


Get busy living, or get busy dying.

http://blog.port3101.org/hdawg/
New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-02-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: New install and existing SQL server 2005

OK, so do I need to add this to that database file I made or does the install program do that?

 

Cheers'

Dave